top five, feeling the city love edition

There has just been so much city love in the air here in New York. Whether it’s chilling up on my roof on sunny mornings in the 70s listening to Dear Sugar podcasts (back for a new summer season!) (and can I just say how on-point Cheryl Strayed is with the advice every. single. time?!), or walking down my street doing errands when I pass by Books of Wonder and see that two of my fave authors are doing an event right that second so I serendipitously get to attend, or having refreshing blended mint lemonade granitas at Westville with good friends visiting from LA, or just listening to the mourning dove in the tree outside my window hoo while I’m writing…it’s been a beautiful end to springtime.

Here are some more city love examples.

1. The tagline of City Love is Look up. Anything is possible. When you look up, you notice beauty you’ve never seen before. You view history. You welcome connections, which invites possibility. One thing I love about looking up is spotting old-school signage on buildings here in downtown Manhattan. Like this one for manicure sets:

Old-school signage in Chelsea, New York City

Not only do I love the physical signage, the faded lettering in vintage fonts of the 20s and 30s, but it’s fun to imagine the New York of that time, back in the day when the now apartment building was a factory or warehouse. The mix of old and new on every block here is dope.

2. I was on the High Line, my fave place in New York, the other evening filming part of a City Love trilogy walking tour I’ll be posting in July when Forever in Love comes out. It was one of those perfect springtime New York nights…gorgeous weather, good vibes, dazzling sunset. Another thing I love about New York along with the mix of old and new, which you can totally see around you every step of the High Line you take, is the mix of country and urban. The High Line has tons of spectacular vegetation, which I love against the backdrop of city life:

The High Line, New York City, June 2017

3. This.

The High Line, Pride Month 2017

Yet another reason why I love the High Line. Happy Pride Month!

4. We filmed another City Love trilogy walking tour video at Bubby’s across the street from where the High Line begins. If you’ve read City Love or Lost in Love, you might remember that Sadie loves Bubby’s. And that Rosanna is obsessed with fresh watermelon juice, which she cannot get enough of at Bubby’s and nearly falls off the stool in a total state of euphoric bliss. I loved sitting at the bar, enjoying watermelon juice and geeking out over the Pac-Man decorations:

Bubby's High Line, New York City

Bubby’s was really loud, but I think I yelled loudly enough to be heard in the video. We’ll see…

5. Guess what arrived?

Forever in Love by Susane Colasanti

The first copy of Forever in Love! And yes, it has a printed case underneath the jacket like the other two books in the trilogy. Forever in Love comes out on July 11, but you can pre-order a shiny new copy now on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, IndieBound, or from your local bookshop.

Wishing you glittery city love vibes all summer long ❀