the claire danes manifestation

Part of the reason I have never owned a TV (for reals, as in the last time I lived in a home with a TV I was 18, right before I left for college) is in protest of what TV is babbling at us in between commercials (and especially commercials). That said, you know I love my shows and don’t mind always being a season behind. But seriously. How could the two best shows ever, My So-Called Life and Freaks and Geeks, only run for one season each?

That. Is. Egregious.

Jordan Catalano and Angela Chase

My heartache over never knowing what happens next will never die. I imagine Angela’s parents splitting up, her dad getting with Hallie Lowenthal while her mom falls apart. And what about Brian Krakow? Angela discovers that Brian wrote Jordan’s note right before the show ended forever. I mean hello, of course Angela gets back together with Jordan Catalano. You can’t not get back together with Jordan Catalano. But then what?

EGREGIOUS.

A part of our pop culture history has been irrevocably stolen from us. Stolen for eternity. That is an undefendable thing. The person in charge of that horrifying decision clearly had an unconscious wish to punish us.

Naturally being a hardcore fangirl of My So-Called Life comes with adoring Claire Danes in general. Her intelligence, radiance, and outstanding talents shine in any role she plays. Right before I moved to Gramercy Park about four years ago, I lived in the West Village for nine years. A few blocks from where Claire Danes lives now. My celeb encounters over the years, from talking to Philip Seymour Hoffman about his son’s new skateboard to asking David Duchovny to move aside so I could open the gate of my building’s stoop when he took over my street for filming and was totally hanging out with us, inspired me to write a scene for City Love in which my girls pass Claire Danes on the street. Of course they follow her. But not in a creepy stalker way. In an adoring fangirl way. The Claire Danes scene is on pages 37-39 of City Love.

Claire Danes in City Love by Susane Colasanti

You know that I am all about dreaming big. About creating your dream life by visualizing your goals, then taking steps every day towards making them reality. Part of this process involves putting your dreams out there with positive energy. Every time you express your dreams in verbal, written, or artistic form, you are making them known to the Universe. I wrote this scene a few years ago. And this weekend, it manifested. Not in the exact way I wrote it. Even better.

My friend Linden and I were having dinner Saturday night. Linden said how she saw Claire Danes on the street right before we met up. I am not embarrassed to admit that I knew Claire’s address because I counted it as “research” I was doing for the book. We were having dinner like two blocks from Claire’s place. So after dinner we decided to go see her townhouse. Because dude. That’s how hardcore fangirls roll.

Here’s the fascinating thing about how the Universe works with us to manifest our goals. I knew where Claire’s townhouse was. I only lived a few blocks from it for nine freaking years. But as we were walking to find it, I suddenly blanked. It was the weirdest thing. We were wandering around for longer than it should have taken. Which made no sense until we were standing in front of Claire’s door for three seconds…and Claire pulled up in a cab. She got out, looked at me, and I looked away out of respect. Because a person should be able to open their front door as, like, a basic human right. Yeah, part of me wanted to rattle off an obscure MSCL line like, “Excuse Angela. She’s the product of a two-parent household.” Or tell her how much that show has meant to me, how many times rewatching those eps have saved me from feeling sad. But Claire’s privacy was more important. She was going home.

The timing of every single thing that happened to allow us to have that small encounter blows our minds. If we had gotten there a few minutes, or even seconds, earlier or later, we would have never seen her. I am in profound awe of that moment. Moments like that one spark renewed city love…and make me appreciate celebrating my 20th New Yorkiversary this year even more.

This also makes me wonder what will manifest from Lost in Love, the second book of the City Love trilogy, coming out on May 3. Into the Hall of Books wants to know. And I’m about to revise book three of the trilogy. Better pay extra attention to detail 🙂

comment

