ziggy played guitar

The only thing I could possibly write about this week is David Bowie.

David Bowie, 1973

David Bowie was…

See, I just can’t get over that. The was part.

David Bowie was a shining visionary who motivated outsiders to let our freak flags fly. He demonstrated the power of uniqueness. He showed us what innovative genius looks like. He was a stellar example of how being true to yourself makes the world a better place.

As an outsider growing up in Middle of Nowhere, NJ, David Bowie encouraged me to be myself, despite what those cookie-cutter suburbanite kids at my school who bullied me said. He was a role model to everyone searching for their true identity. He was pure inspiration.

When I think about David Bowie, I remember his different colored eyes. Or that time I discovered that the Spiders from Mars were actual characters during a David Bowie binge watching afternoon at the Museum of Television and Radio. Or how, even though he was not a natural performer and was never entirely comfortable on stage, he sparkled like the born rock star he was.

David Bowie, shining star

He died last Sunday. We found out on Monday. And all week I have been in shock. Everywhere I walk through the streets of New York, David Bowie’s lyrics play on a loop in my mind. I will never forget the impact he had on music and redefining what it means to be an artist. I will never forget him.

No matter what your passion is, let it shine. Let your purpose in life sparkle and glimmer and radiate until you become a stellar example for others. We have lost one of our biggest role models. Now it is your turn.

Shine on, everyone. Shine on.

comment

