labute love

What I am about to tell you is news so huge I really should have rented a billboard about it. But I am on deadline and telling you here instead.

My friend (and fave playwright) Neil LaBute put a copy of City Love on the set of his phenomenal new play, The Way We Get By.

City Love by Susane Colasanti on the set of The Way We Get By by Neil LaBute

He just walked right onto the stage before opening night and put it on the bookshelf. Which is the kind of thing you can do when you wrote the play. And then. He gave me and my friend Anton tickets to the play so I could go and see my book on the shelf in action. We are the most hardcore Neil LaBute fangirls alive.

Neil LaBute's most hardcore fangirls

You know Neil. He wrote my faves In the Company of Men, Your Friends & Neighbors, Some Girl(s), and my all-time fave, The Shape of Things. Neil LaBute is the epitome of dark and twisty in the most magnificent way possible. Can I just tell you how much I love love LOVE The Way We Get By? Every line of dialogue is perfection. Neil seems to be doing this thing now where he’s more hilarious than ever. I noticed this when we went to see his last play, The Money Shot. Neil has always been really funny, but I’m liking this even funnier version. Of course he’s still dark and twisty. You’re just laughing a lot more instead of scraping your chin off the floor every five seconds.

I am fangirling so hard right now I can’t even.

Thanks for showing your city love, Neil LaBute. You are a shining star ❤

6 thoughts on “labute love

comment

