top ten, after deadline edition

Win! Book two of City Love has been turned IN. Which means I have some time off while my editor reads the manuscript. These are the first days off I’ve had in a super long time. So of course I’ve been tackling a to-do list that got crazy while I was on deadline. Must add to list: relax.

Life after deadline also means I get to write another top ten blog post and include all the fun stuff I’ve been wanting to tell you about. Fun stuff like…

1. City Love comes out in two months! Hard to believe that April 21 is almost here. Especially now that we’re dealing with stark, cold, unrelenting February. Submitting book two of the City Love trilogy was a good way to retaliate against February rolling in. That and warm chocolate chip cookies. You can typically find me hiding out under several fluffy blankets for the entire month of February, a sort of hibernation involving many mugs of green tea and many piles of good books. But I have decided to own this February. Wintry mix has nothing on me.

So instead of hiding out during my least favorite month, I will be looking forward to the release of City Love on April 21. You can read the synopsis and find pre-ordering links on the City Love page of my website. Please stay tuned for lots of related funtivities and my book tour schedule. The events page of my website is always the best resource for where you can find me at upcoming book events. More events will be added soon when the final tour schedule goes up, but so far events in New York, Houston, Dallas, Chicago, and Charleston have been confirmed.

2. In other book news, the first book blogger review of City Love is up! Thanks to Confessions of a Bookaholic for this sweet review. Five hearts ❤

3. Those of you who’ve been reading this blog for a while may remember that I bought an apartment in 2012. Then I did a gut renovation and was psyched out of my head over every detail (fixtures! floors! faucets!). What is more fun than drooling over before-and-after photos of gut renos? Not much. That’s why I shared my own before-and-after photos of my place with you. The links to all of those home life posts can be found here. However, setting up a sweet space does not mean I don’t continue to dream bigger. Which involves more drooling over gorgeous apartment pics. Like my future bathroom at 432 Park Avenue.

432 Park Avenue

Any view that makes the Empire State Building look small is a view I wouldn’t mind having. Plus this place is a steal at only $82 million! Like I said. Always dreaming big…

4. Did you see Wild? I did and was blown away. Wild is an outstanding movie on its own, but what makes it even more amazing is that it is based on a true story. Cheryl Strayed is a perfect example of how you can become the best version of yourself by turning negative experiences into something immensely positive. Cheryl is a role model to us all. And Nick Hornby (who you can catch me rogue fangirling over in 2009 here) wrote the screenplay, so hello film perfection!

5. Speaking of role models, Mean Stinks is spreading the #citylove by collecting your ideas and mantras to help stop girl-to-girl bullying. You can submit your theories, insight, and visuals here. One idea that I use when I hear a group of girls talking trash about another girl (who is usually their friend)? Retaliate against the negative energy by bringing positive energy to the conversation. A good way to diffuse girl-on-girl trash talk is to speak up and defend the girl being dissed. Saying something nice about a person who is being attacked can have a huge impact.

6. How hard was I book nerding over this fortune?

A house without books is like a room without windows.

A house without books is like a room without windows. Word.

7. Feeling bummed about New Year’s Resolutions you’ve already broken? You are not alone. Check it: 90% of New Year’s Resolutions are broken by January 15. Ninety percent, yo. The good news is that you can make resolutions any day of the year. Including today! The best way to break a bad habit is to replace it with a good one. But on average, people fail seven times before trying to break a habit. Do not let that scare you. Do not give up. Keep working for it and you WILL succeed. When you feel the urge to do whatever that bad habit is (A), have a plan ready for a replacement routine (B). Plan on telling yourself this: If I feel like doing A, I will instead do B. Eventually B will become part of your new lifestyle and A will be a thing of the past. Work it and own it, you rock star.

8. My daily email from NPR had the best subject: Look Up. That is so City Love. And you know it’s one of my main mottos.

NPR Look Up

 

NPR just ran a week of challenges on New Tech City involving your phone. Actually, your lack of phone. The challenges were all about putting the phone away and experiencing real life as it happens. Snaps to this NPR segment for encouraging everyone to put the phone away and see the world through your own eyes. To be in the moment. To enjoy the Now.

9. This.

Liquiteria Acai Parfait

10. Finally, I’ll leave you with this screenshot from the City Love cover shoot video. Remember this when you are feeling dark and twisty. Remember this when you are feeling alone. Most of all, remember this when you want to give up.

Anything Is Possible

 

Never, ever give up.

Much love. xoxo

2 thoughts on “top ten, after deadline edition

comment

