do it anyway

TGIM! Here’s some Monday morning warm fuzzy inspiration to brighten your shiny new week.

TGIM warm fuzzy

Have people said your dream is impossible to achieve? Are they saying you’re crazy for even trying? I have heard negative stuff like that so many times about my goals I can’t even tell you. People have gotten so angry at me for daring to dream big that some of them have even yelled in my face how I was wasting my time on a dream that would never become reality.

They yelled how I would never find a one-bedroom in the West Village for $1,500. I found that needle in a haystack.

They yelled how I would never get a book published. My ninth book will be published next year.

They yelled how I was ridiculous for refusing to settle for less than a soul mate. After searching for a long time, I am with my soul mate now.

Super fun thing: achieving goals people told me would be impossible to achieve.

When people are mean/jealous/unsupportive about your goals instead of being excited for you, it’s usually a symptom of their own fear. Someone who is unhappy with their life might have a hard time being happy about yours. Their nasty ranting is about them and their issues, not you. So please do not let negative people discourage you from achieving your goals. Next time someone’s all negative in your face ranting how you can’t do something you want to do? How what you want to do is impossible and it will never happen and how dare you even try?

Do it anyway.

14 thoughts on “do it anyway

  1. Such great advice! I try to remind myself every day that people who rain on my parade do it because they don’t have an umbrella of their own. Happy Monday!

  2. Can my goal in life be: be Susane Colasanti when I grow up? You’re rockin’ it! So happy all of your dreams have/are coming true 🙂

    • But then how could my goal be to be Tricia Ryzner when I grow up? You are such an inspiration to so many people. I’m so proud of all of your amazing achievements…and can’t wait to see how you will continue to dazzle us in the future! xoxo

  3. Thank you so much for this! I definitely needed to hear it today. I’ve always had very big dreams/goals, and I’m in the process of accomplishing many of them, but people ALWAYS tell me I’m being too ambitious and should just settle. But you’re right, doing what others say you can’t is pretty fun 🙂

    • Dude, people used to tell me that all the time! When I said that people yelled in my face, I mean they were literally yelling. In my FACE. Imagine how much fear was fueling that anger. Some people still tell me my biggest dreams are impossible, but at this point I’ve achieved enough of those goals for most people to back off…and maybe even learn something about turning big dreams into reality.

      Never, ever settle. Your awesome ambition is intimidating to insecure people who are lacking in ways you are rocking. Your accomplishments just shine a spotlight on all the goals they haven’t achieved. Ignore that negative energy. Negative energy is toxic. Keep you where the light is…and get it, girl!

  4. Thank you so much! I really needed that post to… I printed it to have it we me to re-read when people tell me that my dreams are impossible…

  5. Thanks so much dear HS teacher, I really needed to hear this. People see me as a joke/loser. They don’t tell me that directly but indirectly they crush my dreams which is why I am just starting to pursue my passion. I hope one day my dreams become a reality and these people bite their tongues for not believing in me and/or putting me down. You are a true inspiration to me and I want to emulate you and follow in your footsteps.
    Thanks Mrs. Colasanti Love ya! 😘

    • You are SO far from even remotely being any kind of joke or loser, Brenda! You are like the sweetest, kindest, loveliest friendly neighbor ever. I can’t wait for you to show those dimwits exactly who you are and what you can do.

      Keep your dreams alive. Take steps every day to turn those dreams into reality. You WILL get to where you want to be if you never give up. I know you can do it. Sending you much positive energy for your fantastic journey! xoxo

comment

