ginormous winners

How dazzled was I with all of your entries to my Seventh Annual Ginormous Contest? So dazzled it took me an extra two days to decide on the winners. You guys have so much musical passion, talent, and vision. I am beyond impressed ❤

First prize goes to Madeleine N. from the Philippines!

Seventh Annual Ginormous Contest winner

Madeleine rocked some bold color to illustrate how strongly music gives color to our lives. Love the old-school boom box graphics.

Second prize goes to Daniela C. for her musical artwork.

Seventh Annual Ginormous Contest WInner 

Beautiful, resonant, and striking.

Third prize goes to Tricia Ryzner. Tricia blew me away with her powerful vocals and beautiful lyrics. I should note that Tricia comes to my book events pretty much every year and has collected a signed set of my books. She graciously accepted third place so she wouldn’t prevent someone else from winning signed books she already owns. How sweet is that? Enjoy the musical sound of Tricia performing Scars (lyrics below):

We took a knife to each other’s backs
An end to a start that we never really had
You took yours out and then you laughed
But I fell apart and let it break me in half

For a while we fell
Into a never ending past
Somewhere in the dark
I found the strength to climb back

Somehow we made it this far
All the cuts smoothed into scars
A weakness turned forgiveness
It might be treacherous
But broken pieces only free us
And now here we are

By your hand we lit up in flames
And now we run from the smoke we had made
With nothing to show but a jar of ash
To remind us how far we’ve come since our quick collapse

For a while we fell
Into a never ending past
Somewhere in the dark
I found the strength to climb back

Somehow we made it this far
All the cuts smoothed into scars
A weakness turned forgiveness
It might be treacherous
But broken pieces only free us
And now here we are

All is mended
Can’t pretend it
Wasn’t for the best
Since it ended
We transcended
Who would have guessed

Somehow we made it this far
All the cuts smoothed into scars
A weakness turned forgiveness
It might be treacherous
But broken pieces only free us
And now here we are
Here we are

Honorable mention goes to Becca J.

Seventh Annual Ginormous Contest winner

Becca used a quote by her favorite French poet, Victor Hugo, about music expression. She loves quotes inspired by music. I love her record player design.

Thanks to everyone who entered this year. Stay tuned for more contests and giveaways, rock stars!

5 thoughts on “ginormous winners

  1. OHMYYGASHHHHHHH!!!!! i can’t believe it!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!! this is the BEST thing that happened to me today and my vibe went from sad to SUPER happy! and thanks for the kind words about my entry! you should’ve seen my brother’s face when he saw me jumping around our living room! THIS MEANS A LOT!! thanks again!!love lots!! xoxo

comment

