warm fuzzies

When it becomes officially cold and sunset hovers around 4:30 and we still have a whole other month before daylight hours start increasing, I rely on warm fuzzies to get me through. Warm fuzzies are not just the type of positive messages Sadie likes to create in So Much Closer. A warm fuzzy can be anything that makes you feel happy and content. Kind of like these…

I’m beyond stoked to be a part of both NCTE and ALAN this year. I remember going to ALAN when I was a new author, just starting out with zero clue, in need of some serious mentoring. The workshops I attended were so inspirational. I left the conference feeling more motivated than ever, ablaze with rejuvenated writing energy. Now I finally get to be a part of the funtivities from the other side and I could not be more thrilled. Here’s where you can find me at the Hynes Convention Center in Boston:

NCTE Events

November 23, 2013 – 1:00-2:00 pm
Penguin Young Readers signing
Booth #930

November 23, 2013 – 2:45-4:00 pm 
The Concept of Fate in the YA Romance Novel
Room 305

November 24, 2013 – 9:00-10:00 am 
Anderson’s Bookshop signing
Booth #1631

ALAN Events

November 26, 2013 – 3:45-4:20 pm 
Celebrating Romance Novels: The Chemistry of Love, Lust, and Heartfelt Desire
Ballroom B, Level 3

November 26, 2013 – 4:30-5:00 pm 
Book signing
Ballroom B, Level 3

Meeting friendly neighbors at events is the best part of my job. Second best? Connecting with readers online. I’ve been getting such sparkly warm fuzzies from readers who have emailed to say they’re feeling inspired. That’s what I love to hear. This excerpt from a dedicated reader captures the essence of what I hope my readers will take away from my books:

Each book brought me hope throughout the next four years. I learned to stop surrounding myself with negative people, to take chances in love, and to actively work alongside the Universe to create the life I’d like to be living. I stopped letting people take advantage of me, and learned to channel negative feelings into positive actions. Also, I’ve come to the conclusion that soul mates do exist, which is endlessly encouraging. 🙂

Warm fuzzy magic at its finest.

When I’m staying in after a long day of working on a first draft (and loving that I don’t have to venture outside where it is Just Too Cold), I like to mellow out and recharge for the next day of creativity with a good movie first, then a good book before I go to bed. Recent indie movie finds that have left an impact are The Spectacular Now, Save the Date, Your Sister’s Sister, Newlyweds, and The Giant Mechanical Man. You might want to try those if you’ve been looking for some good recommendations.

Of course, the fastest mood elevator in the darkest, dreariest days (aka February) is a cupcake. Preferably from Sprinkles or Crumbs. Now I’m off to a business meeting at my satellite office (aka Crumbs). On the agenda: Stuffed Pumpkin Pie Cupcakes. Sounds like warm fuzzy time to me.

Hope to see those of you attending NCTE/ALAN in Boston!

4 thoughts on “warm fuzzies

  1. This Wednesday brought one of the most difficult situations I’ve faced in months. Just the reminder that I can turn darkness into light enabled me to tough it out, and help a dear friend of mine. Warm fuzzies can work wonders in a blizzard. And thank you for the e-mail! It’s now at the center of my “dreams” collage, so I always wake up and go to sleep knowing exactly what I’m working towards.

comment

