summer breeze

TGIM! The first thing I decided on this gorgeous summer morning was to have weekly book giveaways for the rest of August. All I Need is a sparkly summer romance. What better time to give away copies to you guys?

Entering this week’s giveaway is easy. The first 100 people to sign up for my newsletter starting today will be automatically entered to win a signed copy of All I Need. US mailing addresses only. You can sign up for my newsletter/enter the giveaway here.

Hostess cupcakes are back. Sort of. I was beyond psyched to hear that Hostess snack cakes would be back in stores this summer. Those cupcakes with the icing squiggles make me happy. Even the tag line for their ad campaign was awesome: Sweetest Comeback in the History of Ever. So when I saw them at 7-Eleven the other day, I got a little thrill. Until I looked at them more closely. Upon further inspection, I was devastated to discover that the icing squiggles were much thinner. These impostors are not the classic Hostess cupcakes we knew and loved. Less icing = less excited Susane. Will I still try them? Probably. But don’t expect a rave review. RIP, Hostess CupCakes. You were the bomb.

I love when readers are inspired to create art. Whether it’s making wish boxes and treasure maps like Sara in When It Happens, warm fuzzies like Sadie in So Much Closer, or collages like Seth in All I Need, seeing photos of your work makes me happier than an old-school Hostess cupcake. I find this nail art inspired by my book spine stripes to be awesome:

So Much Closer nail art

In other book news, Miss Print interviewed me about All I Need. Some fresh reviews are up on It’s a Book Thing and Winter Haven BooksThe Reading Girl posted a beautiful review of Keep Holding On with visual aids you’ll want to snag. And Pretty Little Memoirs posted a cute review of Something Like Fate. Thanks to these friendly neighbor bloggers for spreading the love!

Speaking of friendly neighbors, I’m off to Crumbs for a friendly neighbor reunion with some old students (aka vintage noodles). Although I absolutely love my job, I miss chilling with my people. Teens are and will always be my people. That’s why I write for teens. That’s why my purpose in life is to reach out to teens and help them feel less alone. I remember that sinking feeling at the end of summer when there were only a few days of summer vacay left. Like I couldn’t hold on to them, no matter how hard I tried to freeze time. Later in life, I discovered that being in the Now helps to create inner peace. Taking even one minute to be still and connect with your environment can improve your attitude so much.

It doesn’t matter where you are. It doesn’t matter what you’re doing. Take one minute to tune out any negative thoughts or feelings. Really see your world. Connect with the things around you. Appreciate everything you have. Just one minute can turn your day around. Anytime you want it to.

Enjoy the summer breeze, friendly neighbors!

comment

