39

This is the last blog post I will write in my 30s.

Oh you heard right. I am entering a shiny new decade to go with this shiny new chapter of my life. Tomorrow is May 1. May Day. My 40th birthday. And I will be celebrating Fabulous at 40 style.

My birthday wasn’t always fun times. My Gram died on my 30th birthday. She was basically my whole family and I had a Knowing she would die on my 30th birthday and then she did and my whole world shattered. Every birthday after that was a nightmare. But then May 1, 2011 happened. Osama bin Laden was killed. And just like that, my birthday was entirely turned around.

Today One World Trade, formerly known as the Freedom Tower, will become the tallest building in the western hemisphere. They were supposed to add the final piece to its spire yesterday, but it was too windy. You can see One World Trade and almost the entire Manhattan skyline from my boyfriend’s place. We watched Zero Dark Thirty last night, One World Trade was sparkling out the window, its reflection shining on the TV during parts of the movie where the screen went black. You know how I love those full-circle moments. If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you also know that I have a long history with the Twin Towers. And that my friend Stephen and I have walked down to Ground Zero almost every September 11 since 2001. It’s our way of celebrating being alive. I took this photo on our walk down last year:

One World Trade on September 11, 2012

I don’t only document One World Trade on 9.11, though. Here’s a photo I took last May:

One World Trade in May 2012

Every day I see One World Trade, I take a minute to breathe in its energy. To remember. To appreciate everything I have and everything yet to come. One World Trade represents strength, resilience, and goodness. This building is a physical manifestation of positive energy. You can feel the energy just by looking at it.

I want to be like One World Trade in that way. I want to help make the world a better place using positive energy. That’s why I’m really looking forward to 40. My teens were the worst years of my life. My 20s were for working out issues. My 30s were focused on self-discovery, career stability, and finding peace. But my 40s? My 40s will be the happiest decade yet, no question. I have a Knowing. That’s why I can’t wait to be Fabulous at 40.

Bring it, 40s. Let’s do this thing.

18 thoughts on “39

  1. Great to read about your positive outlook, In spite of some hard knocks. Happy Birthday. I hope it’s a fabulous year! Congrats on your upcoming new book!

  2. Inspiring. My teens felt more like self discovery but I still had issues ( my mom was going through menopause wheile I was going through puberty, yeah not fun) and my early twenties was just working and trying to start my onw life. I turn 25 in November I’m really praying that something will happen to where I can start a life with my boyfriend. I feel like something good will come out of all of this. I have been to the big apple a couple of times but never made it to ground zero and I really want to. I might have to take the mege bus up and force myself to walk on those grounds. Happy Birthday!

    • I highly recommend visiting the 9.11 Memorial. The two footprints are stunning and the design of the park is very Zen. A perfect place to reflect on absence and appreciate everything you have.

      Hold onto that hopeful feeling. Goodness will come to you!

  3. Happy birthday, Susane! I hope you have a fabulous day! I sent you something recently in care of your publisher, so please check with them when you get a chance. 🙂

  4. You are so beautiful, Susane. Positive vibes. And this energy. It’s like an aura of goodness around all that you write. I’m so happy that you are able to see 40. And I look forward to hearing about all the lovely things that come your way during the new pages about to be written. Happy you day.
    -xoxo
    Amber

  5. I love this building and have been watching it’s progress over the years from across the river (and in the winter, I can just make it out from my window because the trees are bare!) Here’s to a beautiful new decade for you. Happy birthday : )

    • Isn’t watching the progress amazing? Every day I stop to look at this magnificent building, I imagine what it will look like to have those two tapering sides finally meet together to form a point. And then for the construction to be complete. Something to look forward to every single day ❤

  6. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! wow 40, i will be 40 in 2037 (wow) My family threw a huge party for my mom’s 40th. I hope you had a super-terrific-spectacular day. and my wish to you is that you stay positive through even the toughest times and that you will share you brilliance with anyone you meet (and write for).

comment

