goodness

Do I have to tell you that it’s been a horrible week? Of course not. The tragedy in Boston was an absolute nightmare. I remember the days and weeks and months after September 11 here in New York. We weren’t sure if another attack was about to happen. Every time I heard a low-flying plane, I braced myself. I avoided taking the subway whenever I could. And I kept my old-school phone with the twisty cord after I got a cordless one just in case I ever need it.

But we eventually emerged from the fear. The depression. The anger. We eventually resumed our normal lives. We will never forget. But we will not let evil dictate who we are. Because if we allow idiots to prevent us from loving life, we encourage more idiots to bust out the crazy. My response to people polluting the world with negative energy is to radiate even more positive energy. So this post is all about the goodness.

1. The first bit of goodness I’d like to share is brought to you by Judi W., first prize winner of the Keep Holding On paperback contest. Her zine cover is super inspirational. Thanks for keeping us where the light is, Judi!

Keep Holding On Zine

2. You probably know that I’m a massive Flight of the Conchords fangirl. I promise not to go off on a rant about why the best shows ever like Freaks and Geeks and My So-Called Life were only on for one season while mindless shows like America’s Real Hoarder Housewives are on for what feels like an eternity. Flight of the Conchords was only on for two brilliant seasons. It’s just night right, you guys. The loss is palpable.

So how happy was I when my boyfriend took me to the Flight of the Conchords conference room at HBO?

Susane Colasanti in the Flight of the Conchords conference room

Ah yeah. Goodness squared, baby. All that conference room needs is an oven. Then Jemaine could do the talking oven. “Let’s bake a cake!”

3. You might have heard a rumor that I’m turning 40 on May Day. Not sure how that happened. However, I’ve checked my records and apparently it’s true. I’m not into throwing parties for myself. But this is 40. So I’m having a Fabulous at 40 party at a swanky lounge in Tribeca. Months ago when Fabulous at 40 was in its initial planning stages, I visualized the cake very clearly. Vanilla funfetti cake. Vanilla buttercream frosting. Fabulous written across the cake in hot pink script. Rainbow sprinkles. And instead of candles, one sparkler. Guess what cake we’ll be enjoying at Fabulous at 40? That one! Well, almost. Lady M is doing strawberry shortcake instead of vanilla. Even better. Yay for unexpected goodness.

4. Speaking of birthdays, my all-time fave book, The Little Prince, turned 70 on April 6. I celebrated with these:

Birthday Cake Good Humor bars

Why yes, you are looking at Birthday Cake Good Humor bars. They are new. They are delicious. And these were two for five. Good Humor always brings the goodness. But trust me. These take goodness to a whole other level. Highly recommended.

5. Finally, much exciting book goodness is coming up in the next few weeks. This weekend I’ll be chilling with my fellow book nerds at IRA in San Antonio. Here’s where you can find me. Next week Keep Holding On comes out in paperback on April 23. Stay tuned for more giveaways on Twitter and Facebook. Then I’ll be gearing up for the release of my seventh novel, All I Need, on May 21. Of course I’ll post my event schedule, contests, and related funtivities right here.

Thanks to Willa’s Ramblings for this sweet All I Need review. And thanks to everyone else who snagged advance copies and let me know you enjoyed the book. I’m hoping it will be one of those romantic summer reads that’s perfect for the beach.

Wishing you a beautiful weekend filled with much goodness. Let’s keep us where the light is 🙂

10 thoughts on “goodness

  1. today was a good day, i didn’t get as much sleep as I would have hoped for but idk I was in a very good mood today. Oh! and guess what! I am going to the beach over memorial day so I hope to have All I Need for the weekend. that would be perfect, a weekend at the beach, tons of spf 100 and a book i am soo excited to read. Have a great day. =]

    • Happy early birthday to you, too! Sadly, I don’t think Chicago is in the cards for this tour. So frustrating that I’ve been there for events three times and still haven’t met you yet! But we are destined to meet. That much is clear.

  2. I think it’s really nice that bloggers mention the Boston Marathon bombing, because that will no doubt change America. After reading Keep Holding On (one of my favorite books), I started recording episodes of Freaks and Geeks. Too bad My So-Called Life isn’t on Netflix. I love Jared Leto (30 Seconds To Mars is such a good band), so it would be really cool to start the series. I’ve never seen Flight Of the Concords (I might start tonight), but I love the song ‘Most Beautiful Girl In the Room’. It’s hilarious… You’re one of my favorite authors (along with Sarah Dessen)… Keep writing ❤

    • That’s one of my fave Conchords songs, too! My BF’s brother even made a joke about it when I posted this pic on Facebook. His comment was like, “You’re the most beautiful girl in the (conference) room. Please tell me my brother used the same line.” I think you’d really love the show 🙂

  3. You are totally fabulous! And that cake sounds delish. I’m a sucker for good frosting.

    Oh, Flight of the Conchords. I love them so. I can’t decide who’s cuter!

    I love The Little Prince too. So much that when I studied in France, I visited the bookstore Shakespeare and Company in Paris (one of my favorite places in the world) and bought two copies. They stamped the name of the store inside. I always said I would keep one and give the second to someone special – and I would know who/when it was right.

    This past Christmas, I realized: my best friend (who had introduced me to the book over a decade ago, and who’s been an important part of my life for almost 13 years now) was that special someone. Because it doesn’t have to be a romantic relationship to be an important one. So now he has my second copy.

    • That is so true about the special someone not necessarily being a romantic someone. I have an extra copy of Earth signed by the Daily Show crew that I’ve been saving for someone special, too. Pretty sure it will go to a BFF instead of my BF. Although my BF would love it 🙂

comment

