top five warm things

So long, February. Don’t let the door hit you on the way out.

You guys know I don’t do winter. Winter just does not appeal to me. The layering and icy winds and darkness at four something and lack of summer fruit…none of those things are fun. But I have to say, this February wasn’t as harsh. There were only a few bitterly cold days. The month flew by at an unprecedented rate. And there were good things to keep me warm.

Top Five Warm Things

5.Β New Girl addiction

How can you not love this show? Jess is adorable. Schmidt is adorable. Everyone is freaking adorable. I haven’t seen Season Two yet, but I am so psyched for Jess and Nick to get together that I don’t even mind the spoiler.

New Girl, Jess and Nick

4. Lena Dunham’s badass attitude

Speaking of new girls, I’m loving the way Lena Dunham is working it and owning it all over the place. Any chick who is razor smart, impressively articulate, and guaranteed to be the most hilarious person in the room gets my vote as Girl Who We Must Worship. She has the kind of confidence I can only hope to possess one day. I’ve only seen the first season of Girls, but that was enough to become a fangirl for life. LD is an inspiration to girls everywhere.

3. Upcoming All I Need stuff

All I Need comes out on May 21. We had a marketing meeting last week to discuss certain funtivities that Penguin will be busting out in the next three months. Some super exciting stuff is in the works. There will be events. There will be more contests and giveaways. Plus I get to go to both IRA in San Antonio and BEA here in New York. Being a major conference nerd, I am beyond stoked.

2. Fabulous at 40

You know how my internal age is 16? Well, technically I’m 39. About to turn 40 on May Day. Turning 40 will not be the crushing life event everyone says it is. Turning 40 will be epic. In an effort to go with the flow in the most zenlike way possible, I have decided that I will be Fabulous at 40. My teens were the worst time of my life. My 20s were for working through the issues surviving the Worst Time Ever inevitably brings. My 30s were all about dreaming big and achieving a lot of those dreams. Now it’s time to start a fresh decade. Which will have an amazing start…

1. This.

<3

If you’re friends with me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter, you might have seen this photo. No, it’s not a new book cover. Although some friendly neighbors on Facebook were saying it should be. I don’t post much about boys (at least not actual boys in my life, as opposed to celeb boys on my husband list), but I had to post this. My boyfriend likes to document us kissing in classic locations, epic movie scene style. This is us in front of the New York Public Library lion. Why? Because that’s how my BF rolls. He’s a writer. He’s sweet and creative and brilliant. And he’s super romantic. So of course things like this kiss happen. Warm things that make February hardly even noticeable.

Here’s to a March filled with warm things for you πŸ™‚

18 thoughts on “top five warm things

  1. There’s no way you’re going to be 40! You seriously don’t look it! New Girl and Lena Dunham were two of my new favorite things in February, too. Lena has this b.a. “come at me, bro” attitude that I just love. March is sure to be better than February, even though this is the first Spring Break since I’ve started college that I won’t be going to New York. I figure a trip to London and Paris is a pretty decent alternative.

    Here’s to hoping March totally rules!

  2. I am so addicted to New Girl!! Jess and Nick are so cute. New Girl makes it seem really fun to be weird and that’s what I really love about this show. You’re going to have a blast catching up on Season Two. πŸ™‚

    Also, your boyfriend sounds adorable! I hope you have a great birthday! You have to do a birthday post on everything you did and got for your birthday. πŸ™‚

    • Oh, I will totally be doing a birthday post. Not only because of the whole Fabulous at 40 thing. My boyfriend and I are going to South Beach that weekend πŸ˜€

      And yes. It IS really fun to be weird!

  3. Loved everything about this entry! lol I can’t believe you’re 39! And, as I write this at 12:06 am, it is officially March. Which means….spring starts this month!

  4. Can’t wait for ALL I NEED!!!! You and your boyfriend are so adorable! That picture made me so happy, espicially in its location!! ❀ πŸ™‚

  5. ❀ How cute are you two??? πŸ™‚

    I didn't know you were older than me! Well, only by a couple of years but still. You look like you're in your 20s.

    Thank God it's March. Spring should be here (in theory) soon. We all know how Chicago is, though. πŸ˜‰

    • Dude! I thought we had the age convo a while back. Maybe it was just when I found out how old you were and I was like, “Whaaaat?” Because you totally look way younger. Must be all of that positive energy and joy you radiate ❀

  6. I’m with Ronni, I thought you were in your 20s too. Great post, I can’t wait to read All I Need. I’ve never seen New Girl, actually, this is the first I’ve heard of it.

  7. i KNOW THIS IS AN OLD POST BUT YOU NEED TO HOP UP ON THAT NEW GIRL TRAIN. IT’S GETTING BETTER AND BETTER.

comment

