home life – view

This will be my last home life post. Thanks for all of your encouragement and support during the renovation process. And thanks for your sweet comments! I know most of us haven’t met in person, but I feel like I know you. Your enthusiasm has made me even more excited about my shiny new home.

In case you missed any of the before and after pictures, here’s a listing of the posts:

One thing I knew I absolutely had to have in my new home was an epic view. Not necessarily the kind of epic where you can see across Manhattan to the river from the 27th floor. I turned that place down. Not the easiest decision. The sunsets were unreal. But I knew I wanted more space. My view is epic in its own unique way. It’s a very West Village type view. You can see glittery city lights at night, which I love. It just feels like home. The best part is being able to see lots of sky. Last time I had big sky views was 17 years ago when I moved to New York. I had a tiny studio in Chelsea. That place was so small the kitchen was actually a converted closet. But there were two big windows with southern exposure and unobstructed views. Happy sunshine all day. So when I saw this place with its wall of five big windows and southern exposure, I knew we were meant to be. The sunshine is epic. The view is epic:

epic view

I mean, hello. Clock towers and old churches and big trees and chimneys? All of this and a personal water tower? Sold.

Other windows have more sweet views:

epic view

You know I’m into astronomy and meteorology. I love those sciences so much I used to teach them. Now I can admire some of my fave constellations. I can watch storm systems roll in. And the moonlight. The moonlight…

I know it’s not the biggest of big sky views. But I grew up in the country. Been there. Seen that. What makes my view so epic is that it’s right here in New York. In downtown Manhattan where these kinds of views are super rare. That’s why it took me three years to find this place. Most of the apartments I saw had windows only looking at walls. Or windows facing the neighbor’s windows in the next building like three feet away. I can’t tell you how hard it was to find a place with views plus windows in the bathroom and kitchen, which were also important to me. So you can imagine how stoked out of my mind I am.

Looking for the right home is like looking for a boyfriend. Neither will have everything you want. But if your heart is happy, you’ll know it’s meant to be.

Thanks for joining me on this journey 🙂

4 thoughts on “home life – view

  1. I love your view. It is amazing. I would never have imagined a view like that existed in Manhattan Thanks for sharing these posts on your home life. I feel like I know you so much more. I can’t wait until you next book comes out. =]

  2. Pingback: top ten, working it edition | Susane Colasanti – Blog

  3. Pingback: top ten, after deadline edition | Susane Colasanti – Blog

comment

