mocha sprinkles

One week ago tonight, I was sitting in front of my windows waiting for the power to come back on. I was at the windows when the lights went off. I wanted to be there when they came back on again. So I lit some candles, zipped up my hoodie in my freezing apartment, and listened to my iPod. “Miami 2017 (Seen the Lights Go Out on Broadway)” was obviously up first. A few songs later, the lights still hadn’t come on.

I had a Knowing that if I played “Empire State of Mind, Part II” the lights would come on. Less than halfway through the song at 7:03 pm, they totally did. Which was such an overwhelming experience I can’t even tell you. Same with standing on Irving Place at 5:30 pm, immersed in the dark zone. Power south of 14th Street had just come on. I live on 18th Street and was still waiting for power in my neighborhood to be restored. Standing in the middle of that dark street with lights blazing at both ends…it was a sight I will never forget. And one I hope to never see again.

What was it like here in lower Manhattan compared to midtown during the four-day power outage? As always, Jon Stewart captured the scene perfectly.


Not just any sprinkles. Mocha sprinkles.”Serendipity has run out of mocha sprinkles. Which begs the question, Jon: Where the f#!@ is FEMA when you need them?!”

That’s how we do in the 212.

2 thoughts on “mocha sprinkles

  1. That is too gnarly! The Knowing is an amazing thing.

    The video made me laugh! Too funny.

    PS: Can’t wait for All I Need! 🙂 I feel like your books are all I need. haha 😛

comment

