five things

1. If you’re wondering how best to adapt a teen novel into a film, you really need to see The Perks of Being a Wallflower. That movie was so freaking good I can’t even tell you. Stephen Chbosky wrote, directed and produced the film adaptation of his own novel. Which is what made the movie resonate so brilliantly. The whole way home I couldn’t get my favorite quote from the movie out of my head:

"We accept the love we think we deserve." - Stephen Chbosky

Normally I’ll read the book before seeing the movie. But in this case, reading the book will be enhanced by replaying the wonderful movie scenes behind my eyes while I’m reading. Snaps for SC. Dude! We have the same initials! This is totally a sign you will see When It Happens or Something Like Fate on the big screen soon.

2. New York! I’ll be at the New York Public Library’s main branch (476 5th Avenue) this Saturday, October 20 at 2:00 pm on a Bullying in Books panel. Please stop by and say hey if you’re in the area.

3. Not only is it Teen Read Week, but it’s Anti-Bullying Month. Justine Magazine asked me to write a letter to their readers on how to survive bullying. You can read the letter here. Justine also posted a list of books that focus on the consequences of bullying.

4. It makes me so happy when I hear from readers who have been inspired by my books enough to make positive changes in their lives. Some of you have sent me pictures of your own treasure maps, wish boxes, and inspiration for looking up. I just want to say thank you to everyone who has shared these with me. The main goal I have for my writing is to reach out to teens and help them feel less alone. When you send me feedback, it makes me even more determined to keep reaching for that goal. You rule.

5. My friend Elizabeth came over the other day. When she saw my poster of John Cusack holding that boombox over his head in Say Anything, she told me how he held another boombox over his head at a recent Peter Gabriel concert. Oh how I wish I was there. The image of Lloyd Dobler holding that boombox over his head makes my heart happy. Here’s JC passing the boombox to Peter at the beginning of “In Your Eyes,” another iconic image in its own way:

John Cusack, Peter Gabriel and boombox during "In Your Eyes"

Ciao for now, party people.

14 thoughts on “five things

  1. Perks of being a Wallflower was AMAZING. I think what made it so special, aside from the amazing acting, was the way it made you feel like you were back in high school again. All you really wanted were friends who got you. I didn’t find that until college, but at least I found it.

    • Yes, I felt that too. Another thing that really struck me was how something that seems so simple to grownups – standing in the back of the truck, flying through the tunnel blasting the tunnel song – was everything back then. We really were infinite in moments like those.

  2. I just finished this book two days ago!! I’m still thinking about it and how it even speaks to me as an adult reader of YA. I’m looking forward to the movie. 🙂

  3. I loved Perks of Being a Wallflower. I finished it then went to see the movie the other day and I am still in like the best mood from seeing it. I loved that quote too and there are so many good ones from the book. My other favorite is “Sometimes people use thought to not participate in life”. So amazingly true.

comment

