not afraid

This might be top secret, but I’ve seen the first draft of my new book cover. I can’t even tell you how sweet and romantic it is. Totally adorable. This is the cover of book seven, which will be out in May. Or what I’m assuming will be May. As soon as I have a definite pub date, I’ll share it with you. Plus I’ll be sharing the title here soon. And of course the final cover the second I’m allowed!

Right now I’m going over the copyedits. I’ll hand them in next week. Then I’ll be starting my first draft of book eight. Every time I think about the new book I’m about to start writing, I get butterflies. It’s scary and exhilarating. Like falling in love. Good thing the story is already planned out. Knowing what I’m getting myself into reduces some of the fear factor. I’m always thinking two books ahead of the book I’m currently working on. Not sure why that is. But I’m very thankful things have been working that way. Especially when I think about what I did on this day five years ago.

Five years ago, I made the scariest change of my life. I did not show up at school to start another year of teaching. I did not continue to receive a steady pay check every two weeks, affordable health insurance, and an excellent retirement package. Instead, I became my own boss and started writing a new book. I had no idea if my books would keep selling well enough to pay my rent. I had no idea if I’d eventually be able to buy an apartment. (Note: There’s no way I would have been able to buy this apartment if I were still teaching. Not even close). Switching careers from high school science teacher to full-time author was super scary. It is scary to leave behind the familiar. It is scary to take a chance on the unknown. But we have to overcome fear to create our ideal life.

There will always be things to worry about. It seems like as soon as I solve one problem, another problem comes marching in, banging its loud problem parade drum. But I’m not afraid to live the life I’ve imagined. I am so, so happy that I followed my heart five years ago. I absolutely love my job. I can’t imagine being happier doing anything else.

Now it’s your turn. Take that chance you’ve been too afraid of. Create the life you want. You CAN turn your dreams into reality.

How will you begin?

12 thoughts on “not afraid

  1. This is exactly the kind of thing I needed to read right now. I’m currently trying to do the same thing, find the courage to go after my dreams and the things I want, that I’m passionate about. You have been a huge inspiration to me, showing that it’s completely possible to create the life you want. I’m so happy for you that you’re dreams are coming true, you deserve nothing less ❀ Hopefully, a few years from now, I'll have a specific date to look back on and realize it's the day I took a chance and followed my heart as well. So thank you for being that inspiration and shining example of how possible it really is to live your dreams πŸ˜€

    • I’m so excited for you, Nicole! Venturing out to live your dreams is an incredibly euphoric experience. I have no doubt that you will be looking back on your special date sooner than you expect. Can’t wait to hear all about your life-altering adventures ❀

  2. Great post- can’t wait to hear more about the next book!! Also, I’m definitely going to be taking control of my dreams and starting to make them happen. I already entered a short story contest on Figment for the Defy the Dark anthology and I’m proud of the story (it also helped that the three people I asked to read it loved it). I’ll be starting working on my novel again too, which I’m excited about. Thanks for the extra burst of motivation!

  3. I’m gonna take the plunge, man! Like tomorrow, instead of my typical turkey sandwich, Imma go for meatball yeayuh. hahaha.
    But in all seriousness, you’re awesome and totally inspiring, Susane. I love how despite the risks, you chased what you wanted, and everything panned out. Thank you for your books and thank you for your blog posts — I seriously look forward to them.

  4. Oh lady, you are one amazing person. I was actually looking out for something like this, words of encouragement!
    I think I will do what I want. I mean, given that I believe in it so much, it might not be that vad, right?

comment

