getting there

We’re getting there.

That’s what I keep repeating to myself whenever it feels like my apartment renovations will never be finished. Which is, like, every day. Things are moving along. Just a lot slower than I’d hoped. One good thing that happened today was bathtub reglazing. That’s where they make your tired old tub look like it’s brand new. I was so impressed with the work. The bathtub is so shiny! And flawless! Much better than some other stuff that was damaged. Like how the delivery guys ripped a corner of my new couch. Or how some paint eater dripped on my new stainless steel refrigerator and removed a bit of the finish. I could be grumbly about those things. But I prefer to focus on the Big Picture. My place is looking gorgeous overall. The work will be done soon. The couch and refrigerator damage will be repaired. And I will be able to have nice things for the first time pretty much ever.

In the midst of the construction frenzy, I didn’t get a chance to tell you about a hot summer read you’re going to love.

My Life in Black and White by Natasha Friend

 

Fortunately, I was able to read My Life in Black and White months before it was released in June. What a powerful story. It was a total page turner – one of those fast reads where you can’t wait to find out what happens next. You should know that Natasha Friend is the sweetest person. She is truly adorable. Which makes reading her books even more satisfying. I was thrilled to provide a blurb for this book:

“With a perfect mix of emotional depth and intelligent humor, My Life in Black and White will inspire you to reevaluate what’s important in your own life. You won’t want to put it down!”

Also thrilling was finding these at Forever 21 today:

New Kids on the Block sweatshirts

It was not cool to wear a New Kids on the Block tee back in the day when they were actually popular. Apparently, they are cool to wear now. Or maybe it just wasn’t cool for me to wear my NKOTB tee. I was a super fan in high school. High school was too old to like them. The Girls Scouts in the troop I was a leader-in-training for were all obsessed. They understood me. But my love for Joey Joe had to be top secret in front of everyone else. Ours was a scandalous relationship.

However, my love for all the book bloggers who have spread the word about Keep Holding On is very public. Here are some new reviews for you:

Keep Holding On was also included as a hot YA read for adults in this She Knows feature along with Between the Lines by literary idol Jodi Picoult and her daughter, Samantha van Leer. Honored!

In other book news, Barnes & Noble Book Club asked me to write a guest post on how I learned to think like a teenager (hint: no learning was required). The Penn Gazette interviewed some Penn grads who are YA authors about the genre. You can win a signed copy of So Much Closer on Freado. And I have to give a shout-out to Justin for reviewing When It Happens. I love it when boys read my books.

4 thoughts on “getting there

  1. Having nice things must be awesome! I’m still sitting in a dirty old pod chair from undergrad. Nice new couch will have to wait until after grad school and new job.

    And I loved Keep Holding on and Between the Lines! Both amazing books!

comment

