packing my bffs

In case you’re wondering what that big L on my forehead is, it might be because the 70-year-old lady in my gym class today was lifting heavier weights than me. Ah, the joys of being back at Square One. I get that I have to build up to where I was before my surgeries (i.e. the bootleg first surgery that didn’t work and the highly successful second one). It’s just hard not to be frustrated. But I know I can do this. For everyone out there struggling at your own Square One, we are in this together. What’s helping me is dedicating the entire summer to working out, cooking with lots of vegetables in my new kitchen, and buying plenty of the summer fruit I love from Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s, both of which are a three-minute walk from my new apartment. I’m moving in 10 days and cannot WAIT to start making fruit salads with watermelon, cantaloupe, honeydew, cherries, and all the berries. I love making the ones where you cut out half a watermelon and put all the fruit in there. All the colors!

Fruit salad

Moving on June 28 means that I’ve started packing. Can I just tell you how much I heart packing? So much that I had to force myself to not start packing like three months ago. Most people complain about packing which I totally understand, but dude. Freaking love. IT. Yesterday was devoted entirely to packing my books. Ten hours, a few breaks, and stacks of boxes later, I still wasn’t done. I’ve been selling some of my furniture on Craigslist. Craigslist was a brilliant idea, btw. This really nice guy bought my Workbench bookcases. He’s coming to pick them up tomorrow. Don’t worry – he’s not a weirdo. Parting with my beloved bookcases won’t be easy. But visions of my new glossy white built-in bookcases always soothe me.

I also sold my puffy chair on Craigslist. As soon as I posted the ad with a picture of him looking all puffy and comfortable, I immediately wanted to take it down. There could be a way to justify keeping him in addition to my new 11.5-foot sectional, right? Look how cute he sounded in the ad:

Pier 1 puffy chair

This big, puffy chair is so freaking comfortable. I hate to part with it, but I’m moving and will finally have room for a grownup couch.
Pier 1 chair, soft cream upholstery with dark wooden legs
35″ deep, 36″ wide
Very clean and looking for a good home šŸ™‚

Oh, puffy chair. I makes me sad to part ways. We had lots of good times together. Thanks for the memories.

This really sweet girl from California bought my dresser. I decided to post my furniture at way lower prices than I could have because I wanted to offer good deals to some friendly neighbors. So I’m happy the dresser is going to her.

I’m surprised at these unexpected emotional attachments to furniture. Kind of like how attached I am to my books. People annoy me when they ask if I’m switching to a Kindle or whatever. My books are my friends. Some of them have been with me since I was a little girl. They’ve seen me through the hardest times in my life, have given me hope, and offer support whenever I need it. Books are my BFFs. When people scoff at my ginormous book collection I always want to ask them, “Would you put your BFFs in a Kindle?”

Yeah. I didn’t think so.

The last event of my book tour is coming up on the summer solstice! If you’re out on Long Island, I hope you can be there:

June 20, 2012 – 4:15pm
Merrick Library Annex
2369 Merrick Avenue
Merrick, NY 11566

This is a Beach Bag Book Club event with the lovely Elizabeth Eulberg. As if doing this event with her for the past two years on the summer solstice wasn’t awesome enough, there will be cake. With our book covers on it. Yay summer!

15 thoughts on “packing my bffs

  1. Honestly, i feel the same way about books! My friends scoff at my book collection and actually wonder out loud how i could possibly have read so many books. Well, it wasn’t that hard. Which is kind of why i became a book blogger because i realised that books made me happy along with other things! šŸ˜€

  2. I’ve been decluttering my apartment, which is an arduous task because I have hoarding tendencies. I have years worth of magazines and piles of video tapes (yes, old school VHS tapes) everywhere. I have weird attachment issues, too. Why do I think I need to keep magazines that I haven’t looked at in years? Like suddenly I’ll want to look up something in them? At first I was going through each magazine to see if there was anything I’d want to tear out to read later, but if I do that with every magazine that I have, I’ll be here cleaning for years. I need to constantly remind myself that keeping these things isn’t contributing anything good to my life. I shredded a whole bunch of old receipts and ATM slips recently, and it felt good. I love my books, too, and don’t plan to get rid of them. I know what you mean about them being your friends. Decluttering is so overwhelming. I wish I was one of those people who had no problem throwing out stuff. I need a pep talk/motivational speech. Help!

    • You are on the right track! It does feel good to shred/donate/recycle things you haven’t used in years and never will. But I do have to say that I wish I had my old Sassy magazines from the 80s. It would be hilarious to see those old New Kids on the Block type pics. Not that Sassy would ever feature NKOTB. But you know.

      • I used to be such a big NKOTB fan. I even went to see them live when they first reunited a few years ago. It was my first NKOTB concert and was very entertaining to see all these middle-aged women screaming their heads off.

        My sister used to subscribe to Sassy, but I think she threw them out years ago. Today I came across a YM magazine from 1994! That’s 18 years old!

  3. I totally hear you on the emotional attachment to furniture, and definitely on the real books vs. e-reader thing. My books are my friends!!

  4. I understand the need for books. My sister got a kindle and everyone in my family has been trying to convince me to get one too. I read so much I’m constantly buying new books, and books are cheaper on the kindle. There is no replacement for books. I love that new book smell and the sound of the cover being cracked for the first time. I need to turn pages, not push a button. I’m going to keep my books no matter how many boxes they’ll fill. Congrats on your built-in bookshelves.

    • I love having friendly neighbors reading my blog who get me! Totally agree with you about the whole real books experience. Reading real books takes things to another level. It’s an intimate, nostalgic ritual that cannot be replaced. Like I really need to be looking at a screen more than I already do? I don’t think so.

  5. I’m so happy that so many great things are happening in your life! You deserve it, Susane.
    And I agree with the kindle. I’m hesistant about that too. I have an iphone with ibooks and I was able to get a lot of classics downloaded for free.
    But my computer crashed and I am still repairing the damage. One of those is that my iPhone won’t register on the computer and I lost some of my books. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve wished that I had purchased a copy of Little Women in print.

comment

