when explicit content happens

How much do I love this cover of the UK edition of When It Happens?

When It Happens by Susane Colasanti, UK edition

So. Freaking. Much.

First off, it’s bright pink in person. Like neon pink. The pink is so bright you have to wear shades. How do I know this? My fabulous Scholastic UK editor sent me a copy. Thanks, Helen!

Then there’s the design. Totally unique and catchy. And some of the images are taken right from the book, like the dime, yin-yang, and diner sign. Plus the adorbs T&S heart (which I guess is English for T+S).

But actually? My favorite part is the explicit content warning sticker. That is so badass. Slap some parental advisory stickers up in here! When the book came out in 2006, I remember my editor at the time saying that it might get a similar warning for librarians. I don’t remember how that played out. The important thing is that I wrote the story that was in my heart. The uncensored, honest story of when true love happens. I wrote every detail of how euphoric first love feels without worrying about what the grownups would think. And I’m so happy I did.

When It Happens is out now in the UK. I believe the UK edition of So Much Closer drops in September. Hopefully, there will be more to come!

12 thoughts on “when explicit content happens

      • Saw your tweet today. So happy that you finally received the birthday goodies! I hope the chocolate is still good. The Recchiuti salted caramels are some of my favorite chocolates. Here’s their website, if you’d like to check out other delicious goods that they offer: http://www.recchiuti.com

        Tracks 8 and 17 on the mix CD were featured on Friday Night Lights. Do you recognize in which scenes the songs were used?

        Hope your birthday was a total blast! 🙂

        • Okay, Start a War is officially on repeat. Playing it for the third time in a row. It is SO Friday Night Lights I can’t even stand it. But I can’t remember the exact scene it went with. Totally see that footage of Dillon taken from the car while Devil Town plays, though.

          • If I remember correctly, Start a War begins in the scene where Becky is at Billy and Mindy’s, and she stares lovingly and longingly at a framed picture of Tim (who’s in prison), and then the song continues while Luke, Vince, and the other guys on the football team visit a college. Luke thinks they want him to play for their team, but they really want to recruit Vince. Does that ring a bell? I can totally listen to Start a War over and over again. Love the singer’s deep voice.

comment

