so much closer contest

So Much Closer comes out in paperback one week from today!

So Much Closer by Susane Colasanti

You have a fresh new week to win a copy on Twitter. Congrats to last week’s winner, Ashley R.! Your new hashtag this week is #lookup. In So Much Closer, John encourages Brooke to look up and notice things she’s never seen before. Like gorgeous rooftop gardens. And the awesomeness of water towers. But the “look up” theme is also about the importance of having a positive attitude. It’s about staying strong and fighting on. And being true to your dreams, even when negativity tries to bring you down. We notice and realize so much when we look up in life. To enter this week’s Twitter giveaway, just tweet a motivational message using #lookup. I want to see lots of happy tweets that will inspire everyone! Complete giveaway info is here.

To celebrate the May 1 release of So Much Closer in paperback, I’m also running a special contest here on my blog. As some of you may know, I’m a huge fan of Screen-Free Week. When I was a teacher (it was called National TV-Turnoff Week back then), I used to give extra credit to anyone who avoided watching TV for one week. All my kids who participated were amazed at how much free time they had. Everyone would fill out pledge forms and I’d hang them around my classroom. Here’s mine from 2006. Tobey Maguire was my #1 husband at the time:

Susane Colasanti's National TV-Turnoff Week pledge form

For this So Much Closer contest, I want to know what you’re going to do during Screen-Free Week instead of staring at a screen. April 30 – May 6 will be your week to work toward a major goal or catch up on your reading or play outside or chill with friends. Or just take time to breathe and enjoy life in the Zen lane. The point is to create more time for yourself to do something spectacular, whatever that something may be.

Prizes:

Two winners will be randomly selected. First prize is a signed copy of So Much Closer and your choice of Waiting for You or Something Like Fate. Second prize is a signed copy of So Much Closer.

To Enter:

1. Leave a comment telling me three things you will do during Screen-Free Week instead of watching screen entertainment.

2. Include your first name and email address with your comment.

3. Your entry will be counted twice if you link to this contest on your blog, Facebook, Twitter, or other site (leave that link with your comment).

Rules:

1. Entries must be received by Friday, May 4 at 11:11 pm. The winners will be announced on May 7.

2. This contest is open to US residents only. However, if you live abroad and have a contact in the States who can receive the prize for you, it can be sent to their address.

Let’s get our Screen-Free Week celebration on!

41 thoughts on “so much closer contest

  1. 1.) Start studying for CSTs in May.
    2.) Read my book “Jane Eyre” by Charlotte Bronte
    3.) Practice my Flute- currently working on “Beauty and the Beast” and “My Heart Will Go On”
    4.) Catch up with old friends (:

  2. 1. I have 3 Horse Shows coming up. I would go out and ride Macon for 1-2 hours, working on everything we are lacking.
    2. Catch up on my book. Two more chapters from being done reading, and it’s just sitting there…
    3. Spring Cleaning! I really need to take this winter duvet off…

  3. Well, I would obviously read, because reading is essential. Also, art. Without drawing and art, and pretty pictures, I may just die. Reading and art are the foundation of who I am. And lastly, probably spend time with God. Cheesy answer, I know. But another huge part of who I am. 🙂

    I tweeted it! https://twitter.com/#!/JordannnBrooks

    jj20030@yahoo.com

    Thanks for the opportunity! It’s always nice to know there are giving people in the world! 🙂

  4. 1. Spend the weekend outdoors with my sister, painting a house for a volunteer project and getting sister pictures taken.
    2. Take advantage of the nice weather we’ve been having by taking photos of some new models.
    3. Focusing more thoroughly on school work and trying to get ahead!

    • I’m just gonna change #2, because I realized that it includes staring at the screen…

      New #2: Go out to to the park and ride my bike/scooter/ripstik, depending on what I feel like riding. 🙂

  5. 1. get some sleep!
    2. go out with classmates to celebrate the end of the semester and my birthday!
    3. do a neglected hobby like practice guitar or paint.
    Rachel (strayhallr@hawks.rockhurst.edu)

    Rachel S ‏ @koolkat1825 Close
    so much closer contest http://wp.me/p1ERsa-NM via @wordpressdotcom
    tweeted and facebooked it. (not sure how to link to it and show that I did).

  6. Three things I will do during Screen-Free Week:

    1. Read more YA and romance books (my two fave genres)
    2. Get some outdoor exercise
    3. Make my bed 🙂

    Diana
    ISRAEL2 at hotmail dot com

  7. 1. do a whole lot more reading
    2. actually work on school stuff and possibly get ahead instead of waiting until the last minute
    3. finally organize the mess that is my closet and the rest of my apartment so it looks like i didn’t just move in anymore

    alicia marie
    ame1184 at gmail dot com

    i tweeted it: https://twitter.com/#!/bamayankee/status/195150637426671617
    and facebooked: https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=215328885247649&id=41801260

  8. 1. read, read, read. I have so much that I need to read.
    2. Do homework. It’s finale’s week, so it’s crunch time for everything that’s do.
    3. Pack to go home for the summer. I’m studying abroad next year so I have to find somewhere cheap to hold my stuff until I come back to the U.S.

    Aly
    aphanord (at) hotmail (dot) com

    Tweet:https://twitter.com/#!/HeartHeartsBook/status/195197892628185088
    Tumblr: http://myheartheartsbooks.tumblr.com/post/21789098180/have-you-entered-to-win-susane-colasantis-so-much
    Blog: http://myheartheartsbooks.blogspot.com/2012/04/so-much-closer-by-susane-colasanti.html

  9. 1. read, read, read. I have so much that I need to read.
    2. Do homework. It’s finale’s week, so it’s crunch time for everything that’s do.
    3. Pack to go home for the summer. I’m studying abroad next year so I have to find somewhere cheap to hold my stuff until I come back to the U.S.

    Aly
    aphanord (at) hotmail (dot) com

    Tweet:https://twitter.com/#!/HeartHeartsBook/status/195197892628185088
    Tumblr: http://myheartheartsbooks.tumblr.com/post/21789098180/have-you-entered-to-win-susane-colasantis-so-much
    Blog: http://myheartheartsbooks.blogspot.com/2012/04/so-much-closer-by-susane-colasanti.html

    Thanks for the giveaway 🙂

    • oops sorry. I didn’t mean to enter twice. I was having trouble commenting & it wouldn’t let me complete my comment, and I guess it counted it twice by accident.

  10. I will…..

    1. Practice the piano and trumpet.
    2. Finish the books I’m in the middle of.
    3. Go biking on nearby trails.

  11. 1. Catch up on reading my early review books and write my reviews!
    2. Perfect my baking of fortune cookies
    3. Make decorations for my mom’s birthday party I am planning

    Jill Swanson
    m0lly_j@hotmail.com (that is a zero in molly)

  12. 1. I will study for my English AP Test that will determine if I should get college credit or not.
    2.Read and write book reviews
    3.Exercise at the park by running and speed walking

  13. 1. I will study for my English AP Test that will determine if I should get college credit or not.
    2.Read and write book reviews
    3.Exercise at the park by running and speed walking
    PS: Forgot to put my email on my first post
    kassandralopez32@yahoo.com

  14. 1) reorganize and clean out my junk from my room (holy crap yeah….it needs to be done)
    2) try (again) to learn how to whistle. like the kind you use your fingers to hail cabs with. i dunno whether i’ll need an entire year to accomplish this one haha 🙂
    3) read then reread INSURGENT. OMG! omg omg! i just forgot how close may 1st was!
    thanks, susane!
    hannah
    xoxosweeet@yahoo.com

  15. Instead of watching TV I have been
    1. working on my last few projects of my senior year
    2. looking up majors to see if I can figure out what I want to go to college for
    3. Hanging out with friends as much as possible before I start work and college!

comment

