susane vs. fibroid – ultimate smackdown

Remember when I had surgery a few months ago?

Yeah. It didn’t work.

Back in December, I told you guys about the evil fibroid who was taking over my life. My doctor thought the surgery was successful. But then I was like, Wait, why am I still having the same symptoms a month later? Being the eternal optimist, I kept telling myself I was just taking longer than normal to heal. Any day now I would wake up without pain. Any day now the bleeding would stop. I had so much hope, even on the worst days.

Then Dexter Morgan knocked on my door for some blood spatter analysis. With backup.

Dexter Morgan does not need backup.

It was time to get a second opinion.

See, this is when it’s good to be friends with doctors. My best friend from college, Laila, found an amazing surgeon for me. My new doctor is the best. At first she wanted me to have a hysterectomy. That’s the only way to fix the problem completely and ensure that it will never come back. But then a few weeks ago, we were able to see the fibroid for the first time. Yay, technology! She decided that if she did a myomectomy (slicing out the visible part of the fibroid) and repeated an ablation (removing the endometrium), my chances of recovery would be excellent. So that’s the plan.

I’m having surgery tomorrow, April 12. You guys were so incredible last time with all of the healing energy and encouragement you sent. If you have a chance, please send some positive energy my way tomorrow. I know that it will work this time – it HAS to work this time – but I’m still terrified. I just have to keep reminding myself that everything will be okay. Lots of people are dealing with much worse than an evil little fibroid. People survive brain surgery. People survive quintuple bypass surgery. My friend Peter’s heart was on a freaking plate. What I have is curable. So I just need to get a grip. Things could always be much worse.

You wouldn’t believe how many people have told me that their sister/mother/friend/student  is dealing with the same fibroid issues. I never realized how common this was before. Now it seems like every single person I know knows at least one woman who has faced down fibroids. Make no mistake. Tomorrow will be an ep of 24 that will not end well for the evil fibroid. Jack Bauer is enraged. The evil fibroid stands zero chance.

Talk to you soon.

50 thoughts on “susane vs. fibroid – ultimate smackdown

  1. You can do it, Susane! All the best for your surgery, and I really do hope you come out as a healthy and even more vibrant human being. I’ll pray for you, Susane.
    We all will. Because we all love you ❤

    Get well soon!
    Love,
    Snigdha

  2. I was diagnosed with adenomyosis a few years ago and also had an ablation that didn’t work to solve the problem, so I feel your pain (literally). I hope the second surgery is a success and will send healing thoughts your way!!

  3. Susane,
    You are a strong woman and you will make it! God will be there for you through the surgery and when you wake up all your fans will be there cheering you on! God bless 🙂

  4. Constantly impressed that you’ve stayed so strong as a writer, blogger, and general positive force in all our lives while going through this. I’m so glad you’re giving the evil fibroid the killing strike. So many good thoughts heading toward you tomorrow and over the next few weeks!

  5. Be gone, evil fibroid. Surgery is never fun, but you’re a strong, capable woman. You CAN deal. Hugs and prayers are with you!
    Nancy

  6. Good Luck! You’ll be in my thoughts tomorrow. It will work and you’ll be better and healthier for it.
    Love and Hugs

  7. Oh Susane! I’ll be thinking of you and wishing you cupcake covered happy thoughts for a successful surgery and speedy recovery!

    I had an evil fibroid about 6 years ago and having it removed actually saved my life! It’s a long complicated story, that will turn this encouraging comment into a thing about me, so to prevent that I will say that I am now healthy, happy, and fibroid free and I am sending on that same good uterine juju to you!

  8. Susane, sending good thoughts and energy your way for a successful surgery and speedy recovery. This fibroid doesn’t stand a chance with us on your side. 🙂

  9. You’ll be fine. Sending TONS of healing energy your way, hope that it takes this time! And a quick and as painless recovery as can be. *hugs* My mom dealt with fibroids and ended up with a hysterectomy, but this was many many years ago. Things have changed so much. Will be watching your space for updates!

  10. We’re all thinking of you and wishing you the best. You know you can share your concerns with us on here any time, and we’ll be here for you. Sending all my positive energy to you!! 🙂

  11. Channeling positive energy and thoughts of health in your direction. To add to the list, a friend of a friend suffered for years with undiagnosed fibroids. She recently had surgery and is SO much healthier and physically active. Sounds like you have a stellar professional taking care of you, a a full recovery is in your near future!

comment

