full circle

Don’t you love Full Circle Moments? Where something significant from your past is introduced into your life again in a profound way? I had a major Full Circle Moment the other day in Barnes & Noble when I saw my book on display next to The Outsiders:

Teen Favorites display

I’ve written here before about how much The Outsiders means to me. It was the book that first inspired me to write my own. When I was in 7th grade, I slept with that book under my pillow. I wished for some magical form of osmosis to happen in my dreams so that I could write books for teens one day, too. The Outsiders sits on my own bookshelf next to my books. At first I was booknerding out over the fact that we have the same publisher. Now I’m thrilled that we’re chilling together somewhere beyond my own bookshelf. And the other books on this display are obvs among my faves. So not only was this a sweet Full Circle Moment, it was a sparkly warm fuzzy as well!

And there’s more happy book news. I’m thrilled to report that the first draft of the book I’m currently writing is done! There’s still a lot of work ahead. But writing the first draft is always the hardest part for me. Once I have a draft to work with, it’s so much easier to revise. Revising is always easiest for me on paper. There’s just something about actual paper that helps ideas flow more than staring at a screen. Guess it’s all part of my old-school ways. I print out the first draft, take over my puffy chair, and mark up that hard copy something fierce.

Writing a book is always hard. But it was harder this time around. You guys know that I recently had surgery for a health issue I’d been dealing with for a while. My pain was so bad that some days I couldn’t sit in a chair. Or stand up straight. Or leave my apartment. Writing an epic love story when you’re in pain is not easy. But I refused to give up. I kept focusing on my goal. I kept hope alive. And most importantly, I kept all of the positive energy you guys have given me in my heart. You are why I write. Remembering that made the pain more bearable.

That’s what we do. We focus on the things that are most important to us. We work towards our goals a little bit every day. And once in a while, we have a Full Circle Moment to remind us of where we came from, where we’re going, and that anything is possible.

6 thoughts on “full circle

comment

