for my beloved city of new york

Dear New York City,

On January 6, 1996, you became my new home. I moved here in the crazy Blizzard of ’96. Nothing could keep me from my destiny.

Jon Stewart and Susane Colasanti

You still give me butterflies after 16 years. That’s how I know we were meant to be. We have an epic love that will never die.

John Mayer at Madison Square Garden, 2.25.10

Thank you for being such a sweet support system. You are always there for me. I count on you to make me feel better when I’m sad, to inspire me when I’m lost, and to cheer me on when I need encouragement.

View from The High Line

Your magical qualities make me a proud New Yorker. Here’s to another 16 years of magic.

At Linda McCartney's retrospective, 2011

I’ll be loving you forever.

The Tribute in Light, 9.11.11

Love,
Susane

11 thoughts on “for my beloved city of new york

  1. I love that you love New York so much. I kind of wish I had applied to colleges in NY. I think I would have enjoyed living there.

      • I’ve been to NYC three times, and it’s definitely one of my favorite places to visit. I started The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight last night. I haven’t gotten very far, but I can already tell it’s going to be a good book.

  2. I’m glad that your love for New York has continued to grow and that you still want to live here. I plan to keep living here too because I can’t see myself being anywhere else for long.

    • We’re on the same wavelength. I can’t imagine being happier anywhere else. If I ever had to leave New York, I would miss it dearly every single day. Here’s hoping we’ll both get to stay and rock our ideal lives ❤

comment

