11.1.11

Greeting on this auspicious day of a shiny new month! 11.1.11 has magical powers. I’ll be making wishes at 11:11 am and 11:11 pm. And don’t even get me started on 11.11.11. Most epic wish ever!

This is also the first day of National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo as it’s known in the writing community. Are you working on a novel? Then please join me! I’m working on a first draft that’s currently kicking my butt. There comes a point in every first draft when I hit a wall. That’s where I am right now. Splattered flat up against a concrete wall. But! Knowing some of you are also working on a first draft helps. We can do this, you guys. First drafts always get in my face like this. And they always get written. So if the idea of writing an entire first draft in one month scares you, know that I’m scared right along with you. Let’s just take it one day at a time.

Maybe it’s the desperate sensation that comes with being splattered flat up against a concrete wall, but I was thinking of taking an Internet break last weekend. I usually don’t go online at all when I’m away on vacay. But it’s been a while since I’ve gone away. I felt in need of a refresher. Guess what? The Universe totally read my mind! That freak snowstorm we had caused an outage. Which meant I was offline for 48 hours. A two-day break from the online Noise Bubble was just what I needed. A ton of stuff got done around here. When I was a teacher, I used to tell my kids that less TV = more time to do what they wished they had time to do. Same goes for the Internet. It’s good to take a break now and then, IMHO.

What else has been going on? I finally saw Bridesmaids. People kept telling me how good it was. People were right. So. Freaking. GOOD. I was not at all surprised to discover that Freaks and Geeks creator Paul Feig directed it.

Nick Andopolis Lady L single

Yet another example of the unparalleled brilliance of Paul Feig. That part where Kristen Wiig is watching Cast Away and crying when Wilson is lost at sea? Is the same part I always cry over. Which is why it was so emotional when I got to meet the real Wilson in LA!

Okay, time to peel myself off the wall, brush myself off, and finish this first draft with all of you NaNoWriMo enthusiasts. One thing I find helpful to keep the inspiration alive is surrounding myself with music and artifacts that I’m including in the book I’m writing. This new book has some heavy 80s influences. So I’ve been playing lots of classic 80s music. And I’m kicking it old-school by reconnecting with my 14-year-old self’s musical obsession, New Kids on the Block. Back when Joey Joe and me were sitting in a tree. Joey McIntyre’s voice change was a BFD in my world. I love how it produced three different versions of my all-time fave New Kids song, “Please Don’t Go Girl.” There’s the original version (recorded in 1987):

Then there’s the Voice Change version with everyone singing in a lower register. This clip is from 1988 or 89. Note the clueless audience (who apparently existed before things like waving your hands in the air or clapping were invented) and Joey and Jordan cracking up at the absence of clue around 3:20. Finally, we have the Grown and Sexy version from when NKOTB reunited. As much as I loved Joey’s high-pitched adorableness, his grown man voice is mad impressive. Bonus clip: New Kids on GMA in 1989. Did we really dress like that with the slouchy white socks and loafers and oversized Cosby sweaters? Unfortunately. But hey, it’s fun to look back on that fashionably heinous time and just laugh.

Here we go. Brush self off. Finish first draft. Who’s with me?

18 thoughts on “11.1.11

  1. Nano! Yep, I’m giving it another valiant attempt this year. I’m hoping to hit the winning 50k, and then add another 20k or so in December to finish this draft! Finished draft by 2012? I hope so!

    (I’m on NaNo at laurenemorrill, if you want to be a writing buddy!)

  2. DUDE! You know how much I LOVE me some NKOTB and Joey Joe (he’s MINE! Do YOU have a photo with him? No. So back off, Colasanti!). So kudos on a yet another brilliant post and I can only imagine the amount of “research” you did on YouTube.

    I’m gonna love you girl, until the end of time…

    • First off, you are hilarious. We have had this convo so many times. But I am happy to rehash our bros before hos fight for my blog readers. Okay yes, you do have a Grown and Sexy photo with NKOTB on your refrigerator. I saw it on said refrigerator and can confirm its existence. But this in no way gives you JJ dibs. Did you SEE my room back in 1988? No? Well, let me fill you in. Wall-to-wall New Kids, my friend. Including the coveted door poster. Oh I’m sorry, were YOU third row center at the Hangin’ Tough concert at Madison Square Garden while your Gram was waiting in the parents’ room? Because I didn’t see you there.

      Did you watch that second clip with Joey and Jordan cracking up? They’re hilarious, too.

      • Oh. No. You. Didn’t!

        My ENTIRE room was covered floor AND ceiling with New Kids stuff (I’ll have to get a picture when I’m home at Christmas). Joey got one entire wall (and of course the ceiling above my bed). I saw them TWICE in Milwaukee (not awesome seats like you, because no one can score awesome concert seats like you), and permanently scared my older sister by making her attend. And THREE TIMES as an adult. My love of Joey has not waned, so we must be soulmates.

        I feel the only way we can settle this is with a NKOTB karaoke-off, complete with old school dance moves. So just get on the floor and do the New Kids dance.

        (And yes, that clip was hysterical – what was wrong with that audience. I would’ve been DYING. Seriously, I would’ve DIED. And then you’d get him, only by default.)

        XO, Elizabeth MCINTYRE

        • You want to throw down? Let’s throw down.

          I see your karaoke-off. And I raise you old-school dance moves. Except you’re much better at karaoke than I am (i.e. you can actually sing). And now that I think about it, I didn’t have Joey plastered all over my ceiling.

          Hmmm….

          This does NOT mean you have won. I’m just gathering information. Like how they do on 24.

          Seriously, can you believe that clip? It is so not fair. You and I should have been there! Not some clueless kids who don’t even know what they’re watching. SO not fair.

  3. Ooh, I loved Bridesmaids! I watched it three times in the theater. That’s how much I loved it. Melissa McCarthy totally rocked it in the film. Paul Feig = genius.

    I used to be crazy about New Kids on the Block. Joe was my favorite, too (though Donnie, the bad boy with the ripped jeans, was my first favorite). In fifth grade, my teacher got so tired of hearing the girls gush over them that we were banned from talking about them in class. I never got to see them live when I was a kid, so when they reunited several years ago and started touring again, I made my sister go to their concert with me. It was fun and funny seeing all these middle-aged women screaming their heads off. Lady Gaga, who wasn’t that well-known at the time, was one of the opening acts.

  4. Yeah, NaNo! I love this time of year. I’m super busy with three different plays, so I’ve officially lowered my word count goal to 25K. I’m hoping that my first draft will be in the 70-80K range. It will get done. Someday.

    • Wow, you are super busy! Our first drafts WILL get done someday. In my case, I have to hope for someday soon – book seven is supposed to come out in 2013. Which means my first draft needs to get done…um, yesterday.

comment

