cover news + other awesomeness

My amazing UK editor is in town and I just got to have lunch with her. She’s the best kind of editor – a big fan of my books, excited about collaborating, and a very sweet person. Scholastic UK is publishing both When It Happens and So Much Closer next year. Naturally, I am beyond stoked. Helen showed me a mock-up of the When It Happens cover. It’s such a unique design! Without giving too much away, I can tell you that there’s room for some images on the cover that reflect things from the book.

Which is where you come in.

It’s been a long time since I read When It Happens. Even though it’s hard to believe, I don’t remember everything I wrote. How busted is that? Of course I remember details like Tobey’s black Converse and Sara’s sketchbook and the significance of yin-yang and Chez and how music was a major part of the story. But I’d love to know which details you remember. What images do you think should go on the cover? Your comments would be much appreciated – and would really help me get my suggestions together!

More cover news for you: I finally saw the initial cover designs for Keep Holding On and the So Much Closer paperback. They are both super cute. I’ll post them here as soon as they’re finalized.

In other awesomeness, how sweet is the Google doodle today? As soon as I saw it I freaked OUT. He was once a little green slab of clay. Gumby! My old students know all about Gumby and co. I regularly worked them into my lessons. Plus I kept my retro Gumby and Pokey figures on my desk. I adore all those characters, but Prickle has always held a special place in my heart. He is the yellow dinosaur. He is adorable.

One thing I love about New York is discovering new stuff. All the time. Often right down the street. Like the other day when I was mesmerized by some skywriting. The physics component of skywriting is fascinating. Not only do you have to be all about trajectories and angles, you have to take into account wind conditions as well. The skywriter started writing over 10th Avenue. But by the time the message was finished, it had blown east of 6th Avenue. What was the message? LAST CHANCE. A group of us stood on the street wondering, Last chance for what? (Note: That’s maybe not the best message to write in the New York City sky). The romantic part of me usually wins with these things. I imagined the skywriter to be desperately in love with a girl who knew she should leave her abusive boyfriend to be with him, but lacked the courage to make such a drastic life change. It was her last chance to follow her heart. Would she take it?

So how do I know where the skywriting started? Because I tweeted about the message. Then I noticed a tweet in my feed from the High Line. Of course the skywriting was an art project affiliated with the High Line. Awesomeness attracts more awesomeness. I can’t wait to see what’s next.

 

4 thoughts on “cover news + other awesomeness

  1. The Dots game! I’m a very big fan of the Dots game. I also tend to think of sheet music and blue lightbulbs.

    Also, I love the story you created to go with the skywriting. I agree that that’s the most reasonable assumption ;-).

    Can’t wait to see the covers! The waiting is killing meee!

  2. Stuff that stood out to me during when it happens was definitely the dime scene, when toby was working up his confidence to go and talk to Sara, and then the dime fell, and they bumped heads :P. the whole gelly roll pens thing(i love those now too), the dots game OH and the game of favorites(i play that now too, no one else seems to enjoy it as much as me 😛 their loss)

comment

