steve jobs shines on

Life in the dark days before Shiny Happy Apple World was a lot less shiny and happy.

I spent a bunch of time in the 80s with my fingers on the play and record buttons of my tape player, waiting for the next song to come on the radio, hoping it would be the one I wanted and that the DJ wouldn’t talk into it and there wouldn’t be any of those annoying crackles of static.

Now there’s iTunes.

Apple was different in the mid-90s. That was before Steve Jobs revolutionized the product and design. I’m embarrassed to admit that I owned a PC back then. Not that I was ever a PC person. I hated the interface, the complications, the weird error codes that kept popping up randomly. I especially hated the ugly beige color everything was determined to be. Then Steve Jobs applied his vision of elegant simplicity over at Shiny Happy Apple World. Everything was silver and white and glossy.

It was love at first sight.

Apple logo

But before I found my Apple religion, I was writing When It Happens on a nasty PC. I opened the file one day and my draft was just…gone. All of my words had morphed into rectangles. I cannot tell you the amount of hours I spent on the phone with “customer service” during those dark days, begging for someone to help me unfreeze the computer/retrieve a corrupted file/decode strange error messages/fix a thousand other problems. Why did it always have to be something? Writing a book was stressful enough. I didn’t need all that hoo-ha on top of it.

Now those problems are gone.

Steve Jobs told us this:

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life…Have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become.”

He said that every morning when he woke up, he’d ask himself if he was about to do something he loved, if he was looking forward to the day. If he had too many days where he wasn’t happy with what he was doing, he knew it was time to change things up.

I love my job. And because Steve Jobs was a genius innovator, I get to work with tools that are efficient, reliable, and beautiful to look at all day. His products make it easy for me to focus on what’s most important. He gave every Apple user that gift.

Steve Jobs changed my life. I will be eternally thankful.

2 thoughts on “steve jobs shines on

  1. I couldn’t agree more. Steve Jobs had a major impact on my life, and on the lives of millions. He was truly an American genius.

comment

