imperial woodpecker sno-balls

Dear Imperial Woodpecker Sno-Balls,

Well, it’s official. You have packed up your cute corner shop to fly south for the winter. I know you’ll be back next summer. I know this is just a trial separation. But my heart already hurts that you’re gone.

We were meant to be right from the start. The way we met was total serendipity style. From the moment I first saw you, I knew we’d be spending lots of quality time together this summer. It was love at first sight.

Imperial Woodpecker Sno-Balls blueberry/watermelon

I remember this blueberry/watermelon sno-ball with much affection. The super fresh flavor! The way they met in the middle with their purple deliciousness! As Angela Chase would say, we had a time. Then Jordan Catalano would lean on some lockers and distract her.

You were a safe haven during that horrible heat wave. Remember how it was 103 degrees and my friend and I didn’t want to go back outside so we ordered seconds? Ah, the refreshing spearmint/lemonade. Such a perfect combination. My tongue was crazy green.

Susane Colasanti enjoys spearmint lemonade

Even your pillows are adorable. I think the Peace one is my fave. You’re probably wondering which sno-ball is my fave. That is a really, really hard thing to decide. But I will have to go with watermelon/tangerine. Especially since “Summer Breeze” came on while I was enjoying it, which made the whole experience even better. Thanks for playing it just for me. I know you know it’s my summer jam.

Imperial Woodpecker Sno-Balls watermelon/tangerine

I hope you weren’t mad that I didn’t visit every day. Yeah, I lived right down the street from you. But savoring sno-balls is a social experience. That’s why I only showed up with friends. My people know a good party when they taste one. Like this sweet Granny Smith apple/cherry combo.

Imperial Woodpecker Sno-Balls Granny Smith apple/cherry

So thanks for the memories. Thanks for cooling off crowds of hot New Yorkers in August. Thanks for making me smile with your old-school cuteness. Oh, and thanks to your owner who made all of this possible, Neesa Peterson. She is one of those people who is always cheerful and bubbly. Thanks for sharing your positive energy with us, Neesa!

Susane Colasanti and owner Neesa Peterson at Imperial Woodpecker Sno-Balls

Until we meet again…

With emotions,
Susane

6 thoughts on “imperial woodpecker sno-balls

  1. Mmm, those look delicious! I wish it were hot enough here to enjoy something like sno-balls on a daily basis during the summer, but sadly, it rarely is. That’s one thing that bums me out about San Francisco–the “summer” weather.

    Also, I loved your My So-Called Life shout-out. Oh, how I loved that show! I was the same age as Angela Chase when the show first aired, so I was especially drawn in by Angela and everything she was going through. Don’t know if you own the DVD set, but it has a lot of great extras.

    You’re featured in Interview magazine! 🙂

    http://www.interviewmagazine.com/film/anne-hathaway-1

    • Dude, of COURSE I have the My So-Called Life box set. It’s one of my most prized possessions. I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve watched those eps. And as far as the mid-90s go, I was wearing just as much oversized flannel as Angela and everyone. The fashion was so bad!

      Thanks for the link 🙂

  2. I’m SO happy you took me here on the last day. Even though I wasn’t able to get my cherry on, the root beer/ice cream was delish. My new goal in life is to try every flavor, except the melon, since you know, it might wind me up in the hospital. Cheers to Imperial (and Susane for adding another food addiction to the list)!

    • Thanks for being there on the last day! I was happy to be sharing that monumental occasion with you ❤

      You will LOVE the cherry. Hey, the way time is flying these days, next summer is almost here…

comment

