cover anticipation

You guys. I am SO freaking excited about the cover of my new book, Keep Holding On. Have I seen a draft of the cover yet? No. So why the excitement? Well, the designers have been working on it for a while now. I’m taking that as a good sign. It means they really want to get the cover right. And not having the first clue about what the cover is going to look like is exciting, too. I can’t wait to see what the phenomenal design team at Penguin comes up with!

But there’s even more cover anticipation. The paperback edition of So Much Closer is getting a shiny new cover! I’m extra stoked because the photo shoot might be taking place on the High Line again. Plus, we’re putting some bonus material in the paperbacks for you. How sweet is that? It’s like I have two new books to look forward to in 2012.

Of course I’ll be sharing both covers with you here as soon as I can. For now, I hope you’re enjoying the last few weeks of summer, which tragically always seem to fly by at an alarming warp speed. Some of you even went back to school already. That blows my mind. I can’t imagine going back in August. But I guess you get out earlier, so that rocks. Every situation has a positive side.

I’m not really sure what the positive side of Friday Night LIghts ending is, but at least there’s a new tidbit to share. A friendly neighbor on Twitter told me about Coach Eric Taylor’s farewell speech. It was originally supposed to be the voice-over for that spectacular final montage of the Friday Night Lights series finale. Then it was decided that the montage was more powerful as just a collection of images, perhaps the most profound collection of images ever. It doesn’t matter how many times I listen to this speech. This part gets me every time: “You will always be a part of me, my heart and my soul. You are my family.” Just like the theme music gives me goosebumps. Every single time.

For those of you obsessed with connections like I am, I just have to point out one thing. There’s a part in Take Me There where Danny is talking about Easter eggs. Not the kind you dye. The kind that are these hidden features on DVDs. Coach Taylor’s speech is an Easter egg on the DVD. To access it, you have to go to the menu screen for the finale, select “commentary off,” right click, and a small football will appear. If you click the football, you get to the speech. See? Everything about that show is made of awesome, including the DVD.

Whatever you’re anticipating, I hope these last few weeks of summer bring you fun times!

22 thoughts on “cover anticipation

  1. Hello!!!! It is Natalie (from phillyy…… Again)! Haha and holy macarole! I don’t know if anybody is as excited as I am for keep holding on!!! I will literally be the first person waiting outside of the closest barnes and noble in the morning! I am sooo happy!!!!! You doing such a great job staying on top of things, especially because it is summer!!! You rock susane! Love u! Xoxoxo =) ❤

  2. OMG. Susane colasanti.
    I live in Queens but spend every second in and around the city. I have my little secret spots I love about nyc but because of your book so much closer the highline is now my favorite! I LOVED IT! And I am going to try that snoball place soon! Love your books&tweets! Plesase tweet more about the city!
    Love
    Natalia

    • Woot! It makes me so happy that you love the High Line now! I’d tweet all day long about NYC, but other people (i.e. not us) would probably find that boring. Lots more NYC tweets to come, plus another blog post with pics from the sno-ball place. Refreshing and delicious!

  3. I just started reading your blog a few months ago, so I’ve been reading through your old entries lately to see what I’ve missed, especially the ones about positive energy. LOVE your thoughts on that. I’ve decided to reread all your books because I think I’ll have a new appreciation for them now. I feel like I know you from your blog and facebook. Thanks for giving your readers the chance to feel that connection with you!

    • Thank YOU for connecting with ME! Without comments and emails from you guys, I wouldn’t know how I’m doing. Your positive energy reassures me that I’m reaching my goals. And thanks for reading the blog archives. I’ve actually been cleaning up the old entries (I’m on July 2009 right now) to fix some problems that came up when I imported my blog to WordPress. But aside from some missing YouTube videos and outdated links, you should be able to read them intact for the most part.

      I love how you’ve connected my positive energy philosophy with my books. That’s something my publisher has also picked up on. The marketing team is planning a campaign for my new book focusing on inspiring messages and creating your ideal life. Yay!

  4. Hi susane 🙂 I read so much closer a few days ago and fell absolutely in love with it. I had to go out to barnes and get every single one of your books. You are an amazing and very inspirational writer. Thank you so much for you amazing books 🙂

  5. I’m the friendly neighbor from Twitter who sent you the FNL link. Hi, neighbor! 🙂 I can’t believe I’ve had the fifth season DVDs for months and only found out about Coach’s speech when I read about it on Entertainment Weekly’s website. Oh, how I love that show! I do hope a movie will be made. I’ll be cheering on the show, Kyle, and Connie at this year’s Emmys. Can you imagine if either of them won? Or if the show won? That would be epic (not Epyck :P)!

    Sooo can’t wait to see the cover for Keep Holding On! I started When It Happens late last night and am really enjoying it so far. I love being able to read Tobey’s point of view. I’m the one who needed cheering up from your other blog entry, and so far your book is doing the job, so thanks!!! 🙂

    • Aha! Now that I know you’re the same person, your comments are so much cooler 😉

      The Emmys are so cruel that I highly doubt the show will win. Even though we both know it totally should. But I do think Kyle or Connie WILL win. The Emmys can’t be that cruel.

      Funny that you picked When It Happens to read. I had a feeling you would. I’m happy you’re into it!

  6. Hey it’s Natalie from Philly again!!! Are ya going to see one day in 2 hours and 36 minutes?!?! Hahaha ahhh can’t wait!!! 🙂 too bad it’s not Anne hathaway and John krasinski, then tht would be (practically) you and the awesomest actor alive! Aka- heaven on earth British accents. Woah. Hahahha love u!! Xoxoo

  7. ONE DAY ROCKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you will absolutely LOVE it! i really wanna go watch it again tomorrow- i think its one of those movies where you pick up more stuff every time that you watch it! I am not going to spoil it for you….. other than saying it wasnt a disappointment!!!!!!!!love u, xoxoxo natalie from philly

    • Yay! We knew it would be awesome. Isn’t it so fun to find a new movie to obsess over? I will def be obsessing over it next week…and I’m sure getting the DVD when it comes out to watch it over like a million times.

  8. P.S. I SAW THIS AWESOME HIGH LINE SHORT SPECIAL ON THE NEWS THE OTHER DAY?!?! SOOOOOOOO COOL- it makes me want to go there even more, except i live in philly….. i wish we had places like that near me (i dont actually live in the real city of philly, in a suburbs outside- but still equally cool!!! hahah)

    • That rap is the best thing EVER. “I know that you’re from Jersey!” Beyond hilarious. Thanks for sharing it! I’m a huge Jon Stewart fan and watch his eps online – just watched myself…um, I mean Anne this morning 🙂

comment

