and i thought my place was small

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know how much I love living in the heart of the Village. You know I sacrificed some things for this prime location. Like having a freezer. I don’t remember putting all that much in my freezer before, but when you don’t have one and it’s 100 degrees out? Man, you want a popsicle. Or at least some ice. But living in this 400-square-foot one-bedroom apartment in the neighborhood I adore the most in the whole world was more important than Quorn. Quorn, if you’re reading this, I just have to say that I am one vegetarian who desperately misses you. Sometimes I strategically plan to have Quorn for dinner by getting some at Whole Foods and immediately cooking it up when I get home.

But enough about my freezerless self. Let’s get to the guy who doesn’t even have a kitchen. Or a bathroom.

Meet Luke. He lives in midtown. His apartment is 78 square feet. He pays $800 a month. Welcome to the Manhattan real estate market! How’s everybody? Luke is badass organized. It’s hard to admit this but…I think he might even be more organized than I am. I know! Seriously, take a look:

And I thought my place was small. Hilarious! In an organization dork-off, I have to hand it to you, Luke: you’ve already won. TGIM, dude.

11 thoughts on “and i thought my place was small

  1. This video makes me sad. 😦 Luke doesn’t seem too bummed out about his living situation, but I can’t help feeling sad for him anyway. I live in San Francisco, which is also a pretty expensive city to live in. I would like to think that $800/month here would get someone a bigger space than where Luke is living. This video makes me very thankful for how much space I do have (even though it’s cluttered).

    Susane, if you have a fridge in your place, how come there’s no freezer? Do any of the other apartments in your building have freezers?

    P.S. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of Quorn. I’m not vegetarian (used to be), but feel like I’ve been eating too much meat lately. Maybe I’ll give Quorn a try since Whole Foods isn’t too far from where I live.

  2. Lots of the apartments in my building have mini fridges, too. They go under the kitchen counter. Some people here have full refrigerators, but they’ve given up living room space to fit them in. Mine does have a small freezer compartment, but it never worked. Refrigerators that small with working freezers cost like $10,000! So yeah, I’ll wait until I buy a place and then I will rock a gorgeous Sub-Zero. Normal sized.

  3. Wow. Now that’s impressive. I think it’s cool that he’s happy with where he’s living. It shows that you can always find a way to make things work, if that’s what you really want. BTW, I thought of you today when I was at work. It was our first day with students, and I am SO not a morning person, but while I was waiting for them, I was thinking, TGIM. Great way to look at life! 🙂

    • I’m so happy that you’re into the whole TGIM thing! I love a fresh new week.

      First day back with students? That blows my mind. I’ve been hearing that some schools are starting. I can’t image going back in mid-August. Then again, it *is* almost September, which is just as shocking. Hope you have the best year ever!

  4. Ummmmmm…… HOLY MACAROLE!!!!!!! i seriously could not live like that- I am super organized, but his baby house just makes me feel like my bedroom is a cluttery pig’s house!!!!!! That is just….. NUTS!!! susane, could YOU live like that? even with your crazy organization skills?!? hahahaha That is SHOCKING!!!!! I mean his shoes are with his food, and his toothbrush is with his olive oil and his clothes are with his printer?! That is just unfathomable- and i dont even know if that is a word! THAT is how confused and suprised I am right now….. LUKE is just intense!!!! hahahaha And okay, i love popsicles, and don’t know what quorn is!!! hahaha

    Okay! Thats all! I LOVE YOU SUSANE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! keep rocking on!

    with much love,
    Natalie from Philly (again) =) hahaha

    • You are too cute. To answer your question, No, I most certainly could not live like that. I could totally organize a place like that for someone else, but I draw the line at shoes touching food. And going across the hall to use the bathroom. Luke is my new hero!

  5. OH MY GOSH- you are soooo cool??? U responded to me within an hour AND complemented me- you rock!!!! And you should should be excited to know that I sent you a gift!!!! Yes that is right, a gift!!!!! =) you are the best author and sooo fun and interesting!!!!!!! Love you, your blog, and your books with a burning passion!!

    With much love,
    Natalie ❤ 🙂 (from Philly…… Again- hahahaha)
    Xoxoxo

comment

