summer breeze

I don’t have to tell you how much I love summertime. Don’t we all love summertime? Here in New York, August is super quiet. People go down the shore. People take long weekends. People flock to the Hamptons. It’s like this understood thing that no one works in August.

For some reason, everyone else’s prolonged state of relaxation inspires me to work. Working when no one else is makes me feel extra productive. I even emptied both of my email inboxes last week. An unprecedented event! Of course it only lasted for an hour or so, but for a brief moment in time I could actually say I was 100% caught up with email.

But things will pick up soon. My back-to-school issue of Seventeen has already been read. I’ve set up my new day planner. Even though I quit teaching four years ago, I’m still on an academic schedule. I think I always will be. And next month I’ll be doing an event in Baltimore. So for those of you who’ve been asking when I’m coming to the Baltimore area, here you go! The event info:

Friday, September 23, 2011
6:00 – 8:00 pm

Baltimore Book Festival
Mount Vernon Place
600 North Charles Street
Baltimore, MD  21201

I’m beyond stoked for this event. I get to be on a realistic teen fiction panel with these amazing authors. We’re going to have a blast.

A few other people have been inspired not to laze around all day. Miss Print interviewed me about soul mates, Office paraphernalia, and my graphic tee addiction. She also reviewed So Much Closer. How awesome is she? Plus, a new review of Something Like Fate is up at Musings from a Library Lady. And Laurie Halse Anderson is all over her annual Write Fifteen Minutes a Day Challenge. I always learn so much from her blog. One fabulous piece of advice she gave this year is to carve out writing time and guard it with your life. That’s really the only way to reach your writing goals.

Laurie, I’m right there with you. Right now I’m working on my chapter outline for the new book. I’m having a lot of fun getting to know my characters better. There’s always this crazy excitement before I start writing a new book, imagining all the fun scenes I want to write and knowing that anything is possible. Starting a new book means less time for other stuff I want to do. But I want to do this more.

Regular days off are important, too. They enhance our writing by recharging us. One of my fave places to chill is the High Line. Section two opened this summer with an abundance of gorgeous flowers:

I hope you have some pretty things to look at wherever you are. And remember to take time to smell the flowers!

10 thoughts on “summer breeze

  1. I’m a teacher, so I have summers off. Needless to say, I LOVE summer. As much as I look forward to meeting the kids in my class in the fall, I always get really sad when summer comes to an end. I try not to think about it too much.

    Susane, when you empty your email inboxes, do you delete every single email that people have sent you? Some emails I want to save, but I’m bad about deleting other emails that I have no need to save. Sigh, it’s a problem.

    • Totally hear you on the summer thing! I remember having that same mix of feelings when I was a teacher.

      I archive all of the emails I receive on my website email. They’re mostly letters from readers, all of which I cherish immensely. I even copy and paste them into Word docs, then print them out every year. This way I can have hard copies of all my reader mail without wasting too much paper. With my personal email, I really only archive work emails or ones from friends. Being a major organization freak, I love my Gmail color-coded folders!

  2. Sigh, I wish I were that organized. I like the thought of being that organized and clutter-free, but oftentimes I just feel so overwhelmed. I need to remind myself to do a little each day.

      • I never read Sweet Valley High, but did enjoy Sweet Valley Twins back in the day. Did you read Sweet Valley Confidential, which came out in March? I’m assuming you’ve heard that Diabo Cody’s adapting the Sweet Valley High books into a movie.

  3. I love reading your blogs! Every time I hear about something you love, I’m like, dude, I love that too! And I totally relate to your feelings about soul mates. I’ve met one so far who’s not in my life anymore, and I’m really hoping to find another one someday. I think it’s so cool that you respond personally to your readers on here. It really means a lot to us! You’re an inspiration! 🙂

    • You are my inspiration! My readers keep me going. If it wasn’t for you guys, this blog wouldn’t even be here. I’m grateful that anyone reads my blog. And I really appreciate your comments. They let me know that I’m not just talking to myself!

  4. Excited to see you in Baltimore! Maybe you don’t remember, but a while ago I posted that for my b-day I asked for a book called take me there (a different book) and got yours instead. I figured why not and read it and now I’ve read all your books and await keep holding on to come out. I’ll see you soon with take me there hoping to get it signed along with ten things we did (and probably shouldn’t have) that I wouldn’t have known about if you didn’t recommend it. Thank you for all this. P.S. you’ll know who I am by my long hair.

comment

