fangirl in the nabe

When I found out Meg Cabot was having her pub day event for Overbite right here in my neighborhood, I immediately planned my entire life around attending. First off, Meg is so freaking adorable you could watch her for hours. Also:

1. She always wears cute dresses with pretty shoes.

2. She has lots of pep and zing.

3. She sparkles like a princess.

Another thing I like about Meg is that she’s not shy about wearing her glasses. Smart chicks know that glasses are cool. Right when I went up to Meg she said, “I was noticing your glasses.” And I was like, “I was noticing your glasses.” Then we took a moment to admire our matching glasses. And of course document. See how Meg sparkles?

Meg Cabot and Susane Colasanti

Yes, that is Meg Cabot holding my book. Why? Because I gave her an acknowledgment and wanted her to have a copy. I asked Meg to sign Boy Meets Girl. If you haven’t read it, you need to get right on that.

As if getting to see Meg and her fabulous presentation and gorgeous wardrobe weren’t enough, something else happened. The girl who was sitting to my right (hey, Samantha!) saw the copy of So Much Closer I brought for Meg. She goes, “I like her books.” So naturally I’m thinking she’s talking about Meg’s books. But she was looking at my book. So I was like, “Oh, you mean…thanks. That’s, um, me.” I couldn’t process what was happening. And then – you’re not even going to believe this. A group of girls sitting to my left had all read my books, too. They totally knew who I was! I was at a Meg Cabot event with people who’d read my books! How wild is that?

Then I was walking home and someone yelled, “Ms. Colasanti!” I was not surprised an old student was calling me. I’ve run into tons of old students in my nabe. Which at first was really strange because the West Village is pretty far from the South Bronx. Now I’m just used to it. It would have been even more awesome to hear him yell, “Mrs. Krasinski!” like the old days. But, you know. It’s all good. He turned out to be this kid Raul who I was just taking about with some other old students at Sprinkles. Raul used to say that I looked like “the Princess Diaries girl.” And now here he was years later on the street, right after Meg’s reading. Full circle.

Yesterday was exciting, too. I had lunch with Kiefer Sutherland:

Kiefer Sutherland and Susane Colasanti...or not

Okay. That’s not really me. That’s Kiefer’s girlfriend. But does she not totally look like me?! I know! The first time I saw this pic I was like, “When did I have lunch with Jack Bauer?” And when I posted it on my blog a while ago, people were commenting that they thought it was me before they read the post. There’s a rumor going around that they broke up. And I do look a lot like her. Kiefer and I have a mutual friend who says every time he sees her, he does a double-take. And Kiefer is my neighbor. Hmmm…

Kiefer’s not even here, though. He’s in LA filming a pilot. So when my friend Jim and I (aka the biggest 24 fans in the history of the world) were walking by his house, I didn’t feel like too much of a crazy stalker sitting on his stoop for a minute. How cool is his bienvenue mat? When you are Canadian, it is appropriate to welcome people in French. Clearly, I felt welcomed enough to document Jack Bauer’s stoop for you:

Now I must go secure the perimeter. We have a visual on the suspect. Actually, I must go secure this draft because I have a visual on my deadline. Copy that.

21 thoughts on “fangirl in the nabe

  1. Love this post – so cool about both Meg Cabot (and the girls who knew your books) and your look alike as Jack Bauer’s girlfriend (seriously one of my favorite shows ever!)

  2. I got to meet Meg Cabot in 2009, and she was so gracious and sweet! And you’re so right about her clothes. That woman can dress! 🙂

  3. I’ve met Meg twice now (in 2005 and then this year at a This is Teen event at the Scholastic Store) and she is amazing. I love her and she’s pretty much my writing idol. Also, Boy Meets Girl is my absolute favorite book of hers- so glad you love it too!! Very cool too about the fans sitting around you.

  4. I met Meg last year at the RWA National Conference and can’t agree with you more. You are just as cute as her though and it should be no surprise her fans read your books (I read both!) Kuddos on your new release:):):)

  5. AWWW can I save that pic to my computer? 2 of my 4 favorites authors together! ❤

    and yeah, Susane, not surprised those girls recognized you,
    you're the bomb! (and prettier than Kiefer's ex, he's missing out)

    • You are totally giving me confidence to “accidentally bump into” Kiefer when he gets home. Will Jack Bauer make a move on his ex-GF lookalike? Stay tuned 😉

      All my pics should be grabable. Grab away! I’m pretty much making a poster out of that one of me and Meg.

      • Yeah you totally should! worst thing that could happen is he thinks you’re a terrorist with slightly stalkerish ways (stoop pic) disguised as a Pop Culture Icon/ YA author.

        But nah, he’s better than that, it wasn’t for his good looks that he got to be CTU most capable agent 😉

        Whoop! thanks I was planning on doing that too, except I was gonna photoshop myself behind you guys while doing the live long and prosper sign.

  6. That is a cute picture of you and Meg. I dig both your glasses. 🙂 And you are right about Boy Meets Girl. It’s a good book. I love the Boy series.

    I can totally see your resemblance to Anne Hathaway.

  7. There are way too many things that I love about this blog post!

    Meg Cabot is awesome, I met her once at a book festival and she was incredible! Plus she had on the most fabulous necklace! You and Meg in a pic together is fangirl heaven for me!

    I think Kiefer’s current or possibly ex girlfriend is your doppleganger and he is only dating her because he doesn’t know you exist yet.

    • You = AWESOME. You were awesome when I met you at my Borders LA event last year (this is the same Tameka, right?) and you are still awesome now. I totally agree with you about Kiefer, of course. And Meg’s accessories make me want to go out and find the cutest necklace in the world. A So Good just opened around the corner – I’m starting there!

  8. Thanks for the shout out! I love the picture! See you at another event…perhaps yours?!

  9. Haha, you totally crashed Meg’s book signing. Not on purpose. But you got recognized as another favorite author! I love it. Did you sign anything for anybody there or take any pics with fans? I think that counts as crashing. 😉

    It must have been really exciting to have someone compliment your books sincerely without knowing they were talking to you! Whoa.

comment

