hot summer reads

What do I love most about summer? How the whole city slows down. Infusing water with cucumbers and strawberries and mint. Flip-flops, summer breeze, and long walks at night. And most of all, having a big stack of fresh books waiting for me to dive right in. Here are three I’ve already read and two that are burning up the TBR pile.

Summer and the City by Candace Bushnell

Summer and the City by Candace Bushnell

You don’t have to be a Sex and the City fan to enjoy this sweet series. But if you’re a fellow major fan, you’ll love finding out about Carrie’s early days in New York City. Summer picks up right where The Carrie Diaries left off. Carrie has arrived in New York and she just met Samantha. Now she has a whole summer ahead of her to figure out how to stay in New York. Some differences between the book characters and the show characters continue to strike a discordant note, like how Carrie’s father is in her life and that she’s still a virgin after high school. Book Samantha was married and wants kids! Book Carrie cooks! But there are plenty of similarities that paint an authentic earlier version of the girls we know and love. Carrie’s immediate love for the city is palpable. Her passion reminds me of when show Carrie said, “Nobody talks s#$! about my boyfriend.” She was dating New York right from the start. Her determination to become a famous writer is there. She has the Knowing. I love how Candace included actual locations from 80s New York City, places that still exist like the Pink Tea Cup (which immediately made me kick myself for not including the Pink Tea Cup in So Much Closer – dir!). Discover how Carrie meets Miranda and Charlotte in this second book of a series I’m hoping continues for many more books.

Ten Things We Did by Sarah Mlynowski

Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski

I don’t blurb a lot of books. But I was beyond stoked to blurb this one, which comes out todayTen Things takes you on a wild ride along with two BFFs who get to live together senior year…without any parents. Everyone’s fantasy, is it not? I was super impressed with the way Sarah pulled off the whole our-parents-can’t-find-out-we’re-living-here-all-alone thing. This is a hilarious adventure you won’t want to end. Plus it has tons of fun dialogue, which I adored. Summer reading at its best!

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Divergent by Veronica Roth

The buzz surrounding this book is so loud it’s like all I’m hearing these days. I used to be a person who only liked realistic fiction, who wouldn’t dream of trying out dystopia. Then The Hunger Games came along. I am now a different person. Divergent sounds amazing.

Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares

Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares

Ten years later, the pants still fit and the girls are still friends. Or are they? I’m just playing with that teaser…haven’t read this one yet. Sisterhood Everlasting was my reward for participating in the magical Pajants funtivities with a bunch of other badass YA authors. Thanks to Random House for this sweet gift. I can’t wait to see what happens next!

Press Here by Herve Tullet

Press Here by Herve Tullet

One thing I love about book tours is getting to discover new authors. I usually have time to chat with booksellers in indie bookstores, who of course know everything there is to know about books and have tons of awesome recommendations. When I was in Berkeley last month, I stopped in at Mrs. Dalloway’s between events to do some exploring. And that’s where I discovered my fave new children’s book author. Herve Tullet is freaking brilliant. He is the master of Less Is More. I immediately fell in love with Press Here. I love dots. I love pressing the dots. Press Here invites you in right away and keeps the action moving.

Press Here by Herve Tullet

You might think this book shouldn’t be sitting at the same lunch table as the books above. I challenge you to look closer.

Wishing you a summer filled with refreshing water games, colorful fruit salads, and endless summer reads!

4 thoughts on “hot summer reads

  1. Great list!! All are on my TBR list as well, with the exception of Press Here – never heard of it…but I’m intrigued!! Will definitely check it out. And indie bookstore owners are the best!

  2. Thanks, I always love your recommendations, and even the library world I don’t always hear about everything. You’re totally the reason I read The Carrie Diaries, so I’m glad to hear this one is out!

    What? I totally did that! Lived down the street from my HS, too.
    Bah, I haven’t read Divergent yet either. But I did catalog a lot of Press Heres… and promptly saw a ton of personal orders come through from staff for it. 🙂

comment

