here we go!

Well, friendly neighbors, we’re almost there…just four more days until So Much Closer is out in the world and my book tour begins. The best part of my job is getting to meet readers. You are why I write. You make this life possible. I’m mega psyched to get out there and connect with you! Check out my tour schedule to see if I’ll be getting so much closer to you (I am very corny, obvs).

I’m actually leaving early for the tour on Sunday. Sunday = May 1 = May Day = my birthday. Which hasn’t been the best day for me. My Gram (i.e. entire family) died on my 30th. But! I am trying to redefine May Day as the happier one I used to know. So I’m heading down the shore to chill with a friend from high school, lay out if it’s sunny, walk on the beach, and research the town where I’m setting book seven. The Universe totally decided all this. My first school/bookstore events are near Long Branch, New Jersey. Which is like a five-minute drive from the town I want to research. It should be fun times.

My books usually come out a few days after my birthday. This was especially fun last year. The Something Like Fate tour began at the L.A. Borders. They were incredible. They had a cake and everyone sang when I came out!

Birthday cake for Susane Colasanti on her Something Like Fate book tour

One thing I’ll have to watch out for on tour is hotel rooms, aka the Land of TV. I was staying at the W last week (I adore W Hotels something fierce) for a top secret 24 mission (blog post coming soon) and I had the TV on. I was just minding my own business when a promo for The Office came on. Michael Scott was saying how he was leaving for Colorado to start his new life with Holly. Or something. I’m not really sure, because I immediately put my fingers in my ears like lalalala! But at the same time I was like, Dude! Did I call that or what? Right after I found out Michael was leaving, I predicted that he’d run away with Holly to California. There is a tweet out in the interverse to document this prediction. So hey, at least being attacked by that spoiler wasn’t a tremendous shock.

But I don’t know if I can handle The Office without Michael. And Steve Carell still hasn’t gotten his long-overdue Emmy love, which is just wrong. He has to win next time. The Office DVDs always come out in September. At least I have several months to wait until I have to say goodbye. Sarah Dessen was just saying on her blog how hard it was to deal with this on top of Friday Night Lights ending. I couldn’t agree more. Heart. In. Pieces.

Speaking of Sarah, her new book comes out a week after mine. Some people have already received their pre-ordered copies of What Happened to Goodbye. Mad early! And a few readers have told me that they’ve already seen copies of So Much Closer on the shelves. Like Sarah’s book, So Much Closer has a strict on-sale date. That means it’s not supposed to be out anywhere until May 3 (May 10 for hers). See, it even says so on the box of my author copies:

So Much Closer by Susane Colasanti strict on-sale

No worries, though. May 3 is almost here! I’ll be blogging from the road to keep you updated, of course. I’ll let you know how my redefined birthday goes. And hopefully, I’ll even get to see you. Which would be the best birthday present of all.

13 thoughts on “here we go!

  1. So excited!
    I am so excited for this! I LOVE your books! :)I’m so sad that you’re not coming near me on your book tour. 😦 What’s wrong with Virginia?! 😛 I hope you’re doing well and Happy (early) Birthday! 🙂

    • Re: So excited!
      Thank you, friendly neighbor! I was actually supposed to do some school visits in Virginia, but the person in charge of scheduling for the schools wrote down the wrong date or something. Skills = important. Hopefully, my publisher will decide to send me there again next year.

      • Re: Second Photo
        They were just telling me about this at work! You can not release it or sell it to somebody if we have it in the back and the release date is tomorrow and that they can get in big trouble if that occurs. Oh btw can I tell you how ecstatic I am about the outside cover having the paint lines like the others. So making a display with all your books as soon as they’ll let me! (Hopefully my first full day shift on Wednesday.)

        • Re: Second Photo
          I love those watercolor stripes, too. You have no idea how thrilled I was when I heard about the branding. The stripes perfectly capture the tone of my books (plus, they really pop on the shelves). I even used them to customize my Flip cam. And of course I had to use them all over my website 🙂

  2. Am I misunderstanding this? Your Gram (i.e. entire family)… you mean your parents aren’t around anymore? Or just that you were super close to your Gram?
    I can’t wait to research certain things in my (eventual) novels… I really think that would be a fun part of the process, especially visiting the town that one of your books is to take place in!

  3. Am I misunderstanding this? Your Gram (i.e. entire family)… you mean your parents aren’t around anymore? Or just that you were super close to your Gram?
    I can’t wait to research certain things in my (eventual) novels… I really think that would be a fun part of the process, especially visiting the town that one of your books is to take place in!
    (Your LJ spam robot is totally defeating me, btw… lol. Oh man, I’m on my fifth try. Fail!)

    • Ha! I think it’s because you left a bunch of comments all at once. Or it could be because LJ is beyond busted right now. Looking forward to moving my blog over to WordPress in June!
      About my Gram…I guess this is a longer story than I should be writing as a comment, but she was basically my only true fam. You will understand more when book six comes out 🙂

comment

