not afraid

Woot, 2011 is in the house! Personally, I’m stoked. I have a very good feeling that 2011 will be even better than 2010. After surviving year after year of depressing times (i.e. junior high and high school), it’s nice to finally be able to breathe and enjoy.

Well, the breathing thing is something I’m always working on. I guess balance is this elusive state I can’t stop chasing. But at least I know the worst time of my life is behind me, and that makes me happy. Back in my teen years, I just felt like I could never get a break. Nothing ever worked out for me. Ever. If it looked like my life was actually getting good for a second, some new problem would storm in banging its big Problem Parade drum and my life would immediately start sucking all over again. Really fun times.

That was way before 24, but I totally felt like Jack Bauer. That dude just cannot get a break. I finished watching the last (and final – can I get a Mr. Bill “Oh, nooooo!”) season of 24 recently and was so upset by how it ended. SPOILER ALERT for the three other 24 fans who didn’t see the finale when it was on. All I wanted to see was Jack Bauer get on that plane to L.A. and fly off into the sunset to live happily ever after. Which was very unlike me, given how repulsed I am by cheesy, unrealistic endings where everything suddenly works out perfectly. But this is Jack Bauer. He deserves a Happily Ever After more than anyone. Did things work out for him, even a little bit? No. No, they did not. There was no peace treaty. The girl he loved was killed. There was no plane to L.A. Jack didn’t even have anywhere to go. And after everything he’s done for us? That’s just wrong.

Jack Bauer = ultimate awesomeness

Hopefully, 2011 will be a better year for Jack Bauer, too.

I like the feeling of a fresh new year, but I don’t do new year’s resolutions. That’s because I’m working towards my goals every day. Or at least, I’m trying to. So my goals this month are the same as they were last month. I have goals written down in my creative visualization journal in these sections: three months, six months, one year, five years, ten years, and lifetime. It’s cool to look back and see which dreams have become reality. Of course, there are always goals that I wanted to achieve by a certain point that are still in the works. But that’s what this life thing is all about. We have to keep moving forward, even when it feels impossible to take one more step. Even when we are afraid. We have to take that step anyway, just like my boy Marshall.

When I was in that dark place as a teen, fear prevented me from doing a lot of things I wish I’d done. I had no confidence. I had no self-esteem. I could have made my life so much better. But no one told me that was possible. No one told me that I wasn’t alone. That’s why I’m an author now. So I can tell you.

You cannot give up. You cannot stay afraid. No matter how bad things are, you have the power to turn your life around.

Let’s make the world a better place in 2011. You with me? We’ll walk this road together…

9 thoughts on “not afraid

  1. 24
    So you were as heartbroken as I was about how 24 ended I see.
    God, I miss that show.
    I have seasons 1-5 on DVD, and now I suddenly feel the need to re-watch them all.
    Badass Jack really did deserve his happy ending. 😦

    • Re: 24
      Thank you! I mean, the whole entire world depended on him. He sacrificed everything time after time. And this is how it ends? With Jack all beat up and desolate in the street, needing to find a way to escape the country? Come on! All I know is the 24 movie that’s in the works better set things right.
      As for watching all the eps over from the beginning, I want to wait and see if a box set of all eight seasons comes out soon. I also have 1-5, but 1-8 would be freaking awesome.

  2. Hugs and Thoughts
    I could just hug you. Not Afraid is on my Motivation playlist on my ipod. Along with some disco that gets my heart pumping and some songs from the Rocky soundtracks.
    I made a list of resolutions, but they’re about me (i.e. be more patient, listen to others attentively, show enthusiasm for their interests). I especially like the idea that you’re working toward your goals everyday. I am going to adopt that thought and try my best to make it work for me!

    • Re: Hugs and Thoughts
      I could just hug you right back! You have a Motivation playlist! That’s hot. I totally hear you on the disco. My fave disco music is like my version of a clean living drug 😉

      • So i heard! i’m psyched!
        and i’m really excited since season 8 properly introduced me to Anil Kapoor (ie: Omar Hassan) who I LOVED.
        sure, I liked slumdog millionaire a lot, (lot lot) but he wasn’t exactly portrayed as the good guy in it, so I never searched him up.
        i also though Dana did a brilliant job. 🙂

comment

