so much closer cover!

I’m beyond thrilled to share the cover of my fifth book with you! So Much Closer will be released on May 3, 2011.

You’ve probably heard that authors usually don’t get much input about their covers, if any at all. We can’t just say what we want the cover to look like and then that’s how it ends up looking. That never happens.

But it happened anyway.

So Much Closer by Susane Colasanti

My cover designer at Viking is amazing. I saw Jim a few months before the cover was designed and he asked me if I had any color ideas. It was so amazing that he was asking me about the cover because I had been envisioning the exact cover I wanted for a while. And he actually made it happen.

So Much Closer takes place right here in my New York City neighborhood, the West Village. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know that I’m infatuated with the High Line. It’s this old section of elevated train tracks that was turned into a magical green space with lots of trees and flowers. Some key scenes in So Much Closer take place on the High Line. I really wanted the cover to show my characters on the High Line at sunset or at night. I told Jim about my idea.

Then it was summer and I was wondering what the cover would look like. My books come out in May, which means their covers are done the previous summer. Even though I knew dream covers never happen, the hopeful part of me never stopped believing that it might be possible. That’s me, always dreaming big even when something seems impossible. But I really wasn’t expecting to get an email from my editor with an initial cover design.

With my characters on the High Line at sunset.

Dude. They actually did a photo shoot on the High Line and created my dream cover.

So there you go. Another example of how dreaming big and speaking up can make amazing things happen. Which is why I will always cherish this dream cover. Plus, the boy model looks sort of like Taylor Lautner, so I’m extra happy. But the most important thing is that you like it. So…what do you think?

46 thoughts on “so much closer cover!

  1. I hadn’t actually noticed before that the guy looks a little like Lautner, but you’re right, he does! Added bonus to an already awesome cover. Can’t wait to read the book!

    • What’s funny is that the TL quality works from the side, but if you saw him full-on it wouldn’t (the model is Turkish). The girl model looks like my main character from the back, but not from the front. Yay for profiles!

  2. I love it, love it, love it! I can’t wait to devour this book in one sitting since I know I will do that! May needs to hurrrry!!

  3. Cover Critic
    The cover is second to none – I like it. Congratulations on your book. If you have a minute of two, visit top19teenbloggers.com and read about the what other interesting teen bloggers are talking about. TTYL

  4. Usually, I’m a very patient person, but when It comes to books I haven’t read yet but want to, I hope you understand when I ask… I really badly want to know what this book is about!!!!! 🙂

    • 1. Go as soon as you can! I love it best in the summer when all of the flowers are abundant, but it’s gorgeous in the winter as well. And there are new blooms each season.
      2. Thank you, friendly neighbor 🙂

  5. Congrats on your dream cover! I’m so glad another one of your dreams has come true– you totally deserve it! Plus, the cover is GORGEOUS. It’s a really, really great cover. I can’t wait to read it!

  6. Oh, the So Much Closer cover is so stunningly beautiful! I absolutely fell in love with the colors in the backround. This just makes me all the more excited to read it! (:
    ~Christina~

  7. Hmm. I like the cover but I don’t love it as much as Something Like Fate. I love the skyline in the cover. I think the only reason why I don’t like it as much as Something Like Fate is because the guy’s hair kind of looks a bit like a mullet to me and very 90’s.
    Either way, I can’t wait to read it!

    • The cover of Waiting for You is the only cover I don’t have any problems with. Wait, not even. Nash’s hairline is too high in front. Luckily, I don’t think anyone really noticed except me 😉

  8. Interview
    Hi, my name is Sam and in a computer class we’re making websites. On one of the pages I plan on putting interviews with other authors. I was wondering if. I could email some questions to you and you can answer them?

comment

