jon stewart is my bff

Last night was spectacular. Jon Stewart and every writer on The Daily Show were at the Union Square Barnes & Noble to sign their new book, Earth: A Visitor’s Guide to the Human Race. Being the Daily Show nerd that I am, I arrived at 5:00 for the 8:00 event. Think that’s crazy early? Dude, I got one of the last seats left in the front section! I don’t know how I thought I could waltz in three hours early and score my usual second-row aisle seat. The place was already packed. But I did snag a very respectable fourth-row seat next to three friendly neighbors. It was easy to make friends, all crammed together and clinging to our seats while the entire fourth floor of B&N filled up. People who got there two hours early had to stand.

As always when meeting the people who’ve inspired me, I was super nervous. I was trying to think up a good question for Jon. I was trying not to geek out. But when it was my turn to meet Jon, I totally did anyway.

Jon Stewart and Susane Colasanti

Here’s Jon looking at copies of my first two books. He got shout-outs in both When It Happens and Take Me There because he is made of all things awesome. I marked the pages with his shout-outs. At least, I thought I did. Until I was walking home and realized I completely missed the two biggest shout-outs in Take Me There.

* bangs head on several hard surfaces *

Why do I always do this? I’m always too nervous to think of anything good to say until after and I end up babbling like an idiot and I couldn’t even remember that I said all this cool stuff about Jon and The Daily Show in the books that I gave him.

That I wrote.

But it’s all good. Jon thanked me for the books. He even shook my hand!

Jon Stewart and Susane Colasanti at an Earth signing

Did I have a professional photographer following me around to capture this Moment of Zen? Sort of. One of those friendly neighbors I was sitting with was Robert Denbo, who has his own multimedia company. He had a mad profesh camera with him and was totally sweet about documenting me and Jon. If I hadn’t been sitting next to him, I wouldn’t be able to share these visual aids with you.

The Universe had my back on that one. Respect.

14 thoughts on “jon stewart is my bff

  1. OMG AWESOME!! I grabbed a little booklet of Earth at BEA. That’s so cool you got to meet him and give him copies of your books. Yay for the photographic evidence too- always nice to see that. πŸ™‚

  2. So cool! He seems like a nice guy and it is obvious that he is very smart and cares about people. I’ll bet he checks out the books – or passes them along to his wife.

  3. The universe always seems to be on your side when you met celebs. Keifer anyone?
    You’re so cool.
    I have a bunch of half manuscripts sitting in a box that have these shout outs to my favorite bands and tv shows. Then I started reading about you doing the same thing and I’m thinking, “maybe I am a writer.” I just might be crazy enough to do it professionally πŸ™‚

    • I love using real music and show references in my books. It makes them feel more real, which is my goal.
      Sounds like it might be time to take out one of those manuscripts and finish it. Always dream big!

comment

