whip it

Like every other person I know, I absolutely loved Ellen Page in Juno. Isn’t she the best? Naturally, she also dazzled in Whip It. It was such a good movie that I immediately went out after and got the book.

So. Freaking. Good.

Whip It by Shauna Cross

If you haven’t seen or read Whip It yet, a. you really should do both right away and b. you really should know that it’s about badass roller derby girls, which only reinforces a. What makes this story even cooler is that Shauna Cross was on an actual roller derby team called the L.A. Derby Dolls. I have a feeling that if I lived near roller derby activities, I’d definitely go and watch. But it’s all good because we have the book. And that’s the next best thing.

6 thoughts on “whip it

  1. I find it surprising that NYC doesn’t have a derby team/league. Maybe b/c it’s NYC. Tallahassee, FL has one and they’re awesome–bouting-wise and people-wise.
    I went and saw Whip It with two high school friends who came through town last year. We loved it. And then promptly went home to look at all the Derby names on the Derby registry list…cause, and this is nifty, every Derby name is unique and must be registered, no two girls/refs/whomever may have the same Derby name.

  2. Ooh, that’s one I’ve been wanting to read! I actually went with a friend to see roller derby after watching the movie, and it was so much fun! It was actually very much like the movie, except that it was a slightly different kind… on a roller rink instead of enclosed. They had fun names and uniforms, though. 🙂

comment

