oth & ssb

Happy Mockingday! Suzanne Collins was here in New York at the Columbus Circle Borders this afternoon. I really, really wanted to go stand in her insanely long line, but it was a mob scene. Oh yeah, and I had to work. Now I’m feeling like I’ve missed out on a piece of history. Well, hopefully I’ll get to meet her one of these days and she can stamp my copy of Mockingjay with her special stamp (which I heard is what she’s doing instead of signing copies) and tolerate my zany fangirl antics. I’m sure some of you are already done reading the book. Was it as amazing as you’d hoped? No spoilers, please.

I’m totally behind in my reading. I haven’t even read Catching Fire yet. I know! Does it sound crazy that I’m loving the anticipation of having two more Hunger Games books left almost as much as I’ll love reading them? One thing I did manage to finish is last season of One Tree Hill. It just came out on DVD and Netflix was kind to me. Wish I could say the same about Friday Night Lights, but unfortunately it’s stuck in very long wait status. Not. Fair. And Gossip Girl just got pushed out of my queue entirely. Oh, Netflix. We were having such a good relationship. Where did it go so wrong? At least I got my One Tree Hill on. I thought last season was really sweet, except I was seriously missing Lucas and Peyton. They’re the defining characters of the show and it’s just not the same without them. So I was relieved to see that my favorite couple is still going strong:

Nathan and Haley forever, One Tree Hill

Naley forever. What else. The John Hughes tribute rocked. Especially when Haley and Nathan were kissing over her birthday cake in the Sixteen Candles scene. Tear! And Jamie’s bunny, Chester, is such a scene stealer. Chester is so fat and fluffy I can’t even stand it. I could just watch Chester for 42 minutes. Hm. Maybe this means I should get a bunny.

I’m pretty sure I need a bigger apartment first, though. Saving up to buy a place in my neighborhood is no joke. It’s a big part of the reason I don’t spend much money on myself. The other part is that I’ve always been super frugal. It’s how I put myself through college and how I paid back my student loans. But sometimes? I like to try on outrageously expensive clothes for fun, even though I know I’d never buy them for myself. This is part of my SSB – Secret Shopping Behavior.

Remember in Sex and the City when Carrie was talking about her Secret Single Behavior? If I recall correctly (which I totally do because I’ve seen every ep like a grillion times), it was to spread grape jelly on a stack of saltines and eat them standing up in the kitchen while reading fashion magazines. My SSB – the shopping kind – took me into Anthropologie. Don’t you love it in there? Everything’s so watercolor floaty romantic. Like this super soft shirt I tried on:

Susane Colasanti loves Anthropologie

Of course I documented the try-on for you. I loved this shirt, but it was $68. There’s no way I’d pay $68 for a shirt. If I spent that kind of money on clothes (jeans being the exception) I’d still be paying off student loans and living in Queens. I rarely spend more than $20 on a top, or $10 on a tee. Could I have technically purchased this shirt for myself? Sure. It’s just not how I operate. So I’ll keep trying on pretty clothes and adding things to my online shopping cart that I’ll never check out with. We all have our SSB, whether it’s the single or shopping kind. And one day, I’ll own a home and the years of saving will have been worth it. Now that’s what I call SSB – Smart Saving Behavior. Love.

18 thoughts on “oth & ssb

  1. $68?! I mean the shirt is pretty but I don’t know who would pay that much for a shirt (except maybe rich people) my friend used to love one tree hill. She was like its #1 fan. Bit she says she doesn’t like the show as much because Peyton and Lucas were no longer in the show, and that it didn’t feel the same.

    • I agree on both points. About the shirt, I get the feeling that lots of people I know wouldn’t think twice about spending that much. It seems like people tend to be careless with money instead of consistently saving. I know someone who chooses to pay the monthly minimum on his student loans instead of paying off as much as he can, and then he blows all this money on going out and stuff. With the interest, he’ll be paying off his loans until he’s 68!

  2. When I’m visiting my mother and we go out shopping together, she yells at me for being too frugal! I just can’t help it!
    Are Sex and the City reruns ever on television anymore? I’m ashamed that I haven’t seen very many episodes! I’d like to!

    • I have all six seasons on DVD. I’m not sure whether they’re on TV because I don’t have a TV, but I heard TBS runs an edited, shorter version of the eps. Which is to say, not the real eps!

  3. Ooh! That blouse looks so gorgeous! Too bad it was 68 dollars 😦 You have to admit, though, that’s a little pricey for a shirt.
    OMG! I amd DYING to read Mockingjay!! I don’t have a bookstore where I live 😦 So I have to wait until my family and I make a trip to the nearest bookstore which is an hour and a half away.
    OH, GOOD LORD, PLEASE HELP ME SURVIVE THIS TRAGEDY!
    Teehee 🙂

  4. I really need to start reading these books! I’m waiting for people to return them to my library so I can finally get my hands on them!
    I love anthropologie (at least, what I see online) but you’re right, $68 is way too much for me to spend on a shirt. I only spend $22 on a top, max, and that’s if I’m dying to have it. I need to find some more money saving tips, though. My mom did not teach me how to save money at all!
    Also, Naley is my favorite TV couple except for Leyton. I miss them too and I want to see their baby grown up like Jamie! Today I was a total geek, though, and went to the store to make a t-shirt with this picture on the front: http://tinypic.com/r/14bnnk5/4
    Thought you might like it!

  5. Love the shirt! But wouldn’t pay that much for it either.
    I totally understand about needing a bigger apartment. Why? Because I’M FINALLY MOVING!! For various reasons, I want to live in the suburbs of Chicago, not the city, but it’s still a big cost of living difference from where I am now. However, I will have a salaried job with health/dental/vision for the first time! I will be working at a public library with quirky architecture – a wall that changes color, a roof garden, polka-dotted bathrooms, bright green tunnels, skylights, and various other oddities. And I will be renting a townhouse for the first time (rather than a tiny apt.). It would be about forty minutes to take the train into the city on weekends (my job is in the suburbs). My suburb has a lot of shopping and restaurants itself though. I have never moved out of state before, but I did think of your transition from Jersey (right? Jersey?) to NYC! How old were you when you did it?
    I feel really lucky to have been hired for a job after only two interviews in this economy! And I can finally live where I’ve wanted to live for two years. 🙂

    • Okay, I need to come to your library on my next tour. It sounds incredible.
      Congrats on your new home and new job with benefits! I am so freaking excited for you! I know moving away is scary, but you’ll quickly adjust. It sounds like you’ll love your new place.
      I left home when I left for college and never looked back. I could not wait to get out of there, so moving away was something I’d been dreaming about for years. It was still scary, but after the first few days in a new place I’ve always adjusted quickly. I have a feeling you will, too 🙂

      • That would be AMAZING! Once I get to know my co-workers, I’ll see who handles author visits and if that is something they could arrange. Honestly, it would probably make more sense for you to visit the Schaumburg library in the next suburb over (where I’ll be living) because it’s larger and the most likely centralized place. But my new library is fairly large as well, so they may be able to do it.
        It’s funny, I couldn’t wait to leave my parents’ house (I left in high school) but I wasn’t ready to move away from the city/state yet. I get so irrationally homesick and have trouble with transitions. But now that I know the Chicago area really well, it’s so much easier. My best friend and I had a wonderful day in our new city and we found a townhouse that we’re really happy with, with more space and hardwood floors and a patio and small yard and huge walk-in closet and two bathrooms and fireplace and bigger kitchen and laundry right in our place and an attached garage and just… MORE than we have ever had on our own. One of my favorite parts is that there is an amazing park across the street with a lake and fountain, swans, ducks, running/dog walking paths, a small forest, an outdoor summer concert setup, and an arts center. Plus we will be about five minutes from one of the hugest malls in America. I can’t believe how much my life changed in one week! You’ve been a great inspiration because I know how much it helped you. 🙂

        • Wow, your new place sounds amazing! I’m so jealous of all your space. Hello, walk-in closet!
          Yes, it is incredible how quickly things can change, literally overnight. Enjoy the ride ❤

comment

