the hunger games

I know I’m tardy to the party.

But oh. my. god.

I cannot believe how amazing The Hunger Games is.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

When was the last time a book had me so addicted? I can’t even remember. This is the kind of rare book that you stay up way too late reading, knowing you’re going to pay for it the next day but not caring. The time was 3:21 a.m. when I finally put this book down. I could have easily read right into sunrise.

Fans of Suzanne Collins have been raving about this book. Of course I heard them. It’s just that the whole dystopia genre isn’t something I prefer. I like realistic books with realistic characters doing realistic things. But I finally had to get this book after all the raving by people who know me and know I’m all about The Real. I was thrilled to discover that this story felt just as realistic (even more so in a lot of ways) than anything else. So if you’re like me, please don’t be deterred by the nature of the story. It’s an incredible read. I’m completely blown away.

It’s been really hard not to dive right into Catching Fire. There are some galleys of books I might blurb that I promised I’d read, so they’re priority. But when I’m done? It will just be me, Catching Fire, and my puffy chair.

Righteous.

14 thoughts on “the hunger games

  1. I totally understand what you meant about being a little hesitant towards this book. I, too, prefer to read realistic books- something that I can take away from. But once I read this book, I was simply amazed just as much as you are. 🙂 I have a feeling you’ll really enjoy Catching Fire once you have the chance to read it!
    ~Christina~

  2. I was a little late to the party as well. Heard everyone raving about it but kept reading the blurb and thinking ‘that’s not my kind of thing’. Then one of my book buddies realised I hadn’t read it and kept shoving it at me, I caved, started it, finished Catching Fire about 40 hours later. ‘Love’ does not cover it. Desperate for Mockingjay to be out now!!

  3. Hunger Games was SO GOOD. I don’t know if Catching Fire was better, but it was equally as good. I can’t wait to read Mockingjay. You better read Catching Fire before Mockingjay comes out. I’ve heard that there are going to be some midnight release parties and what not. : )

    • I just love that so many people are excited about reading something. I wish it could always be this way, with midnight release book parties being as typical as watching TV. That would rule.

  4. waiting
    I have been waiting for August 24th since I finished Catching Fire on May 3rd. Yes, yes, I’ve done other things this summer – climbing mountains, art exhibits, white water rafting, blah, blah, blah – but 8/24 has set up camp in the back of my brain.
    Excited doesn’t cover it.

  5. Holy, YES!
    THE HUNGER GAMES RULE!
    But I’m curious: Gale or Peeta?
    I personally belong to the both-are-so-hot-I-can’t-stand-it groupie, but that’s just me.
    And I might have a tiny girl crush on Katniss, but seriously, who wouldn’t?!
    Happy reading, Susane!
    Love, Hannah

  6. The last book I was last addicted too was perfect chemistry by Simone elkles. It’s realistic fiction and highly addictive. I recommend it. Maybe I should that book ( the hunger games) I like realistic fiction but I love fiction in general. maybe it’s growing and becoming the next “twilight”. Lol. 🙂

comment

