the little things

Last night was super fun. It wasn’t even about doing anything major. Just some of the little things that make me happy. I walked along the High Line to see the flowers and the view. There was an awesome sunset with pink clouds. Pink clouds at sunset rule. Mint chocolate cookie ice cream was also involved. The night had that same excited feeling of anticipation I had when I first moved here 14 years ago. It was sweet.

Another sweet thing is my Bobble water bottle. It has a built-in filter, so you just fill it up wherever and you instantly have fresh water. It’s perfect for the gym!

Bobble water bottles

One little thing I’m way too excited about is my new day planner. I know I’m like the last person still using a paper day planner. I’m old-school like that. My teacher self still anticipates the whole back to school routine of getting new supplies. You might even find me in Staples buying a new set of pencils before I need them. The beginning of August is usually when I get my new day planner (always for the academic year instead of the calendar year – that’s how I’m programmed). But I was in the stationery store where I get all of my colored pens the other day and thought, Why not see the new day planner designs? Every year I get a very specific kind of day planner. The colors and designs change every year. This time, it was like they read my mind. There was one design where you could put your own picture right on the front. I’ve been wanting them to do that for years. And now they have!

Yes, I am a total nerd. Which you already know.

Some friendly neighbors have been asking if any of my books are out in audio. Brilliance Audio is totally taking care of business. Something Like Fate is out on MP3 and CD. All of my other books will be out in audio this fall. It’s a little thing, but when my audio copies arrived I was pretty stoked.

Something Like Fate by Susane Colasanti audiobooks

What I’m most excited about right now is seeing John Mayer next week. And dude, I might be front-row center again! I was front-row center when I saw John earlier this year at Madison Square Garden, which is how I took these amazing photos to show you. I can’t wait to do it all again. When he was here in February, we had some serious blizzard conditions. Everyone was layered in their puffy coats and scarves. This time we’ll be outside on a warm night. Totally different experience. Plus, I’ll be spending a few days in Philly. I fell in love with Philly while I was at Penn, so going back to visit is always fun. Some of my good friends are still there. I’ll hang out on campus and imagine times I wish I’d had (which may sound depressing, but it actually helps me with my writing). And then celebrate what makes me feel alive with JM.

Yeah, it’s all about the little things. They add up to create the big picture of our lives. They’re what makes living in the Now a happy place to be. And I, for one, am their biggest fan.

11 thoughts on “the little things

    • Yay, John has a new fan! I’ve been worshipping his music for years. He just has a way of speaking directly to me, like he knows my life. If you haven’t heard anything from Heavier Things, I highly recommend that ride next.

  1. I’ve never heard of Bobble water bottles before, but they sound neat. I think I’ll get myself one, since I only get to drink filtered water at home.
    I was at UPenn earlier this year and liked what I saw of the campus. I wish I could have gotten to explore more of Philadelphia, since I was only there for a weekend in March. Do you have any places you’d recommend visiting for a student on a budget? 🙂

    • As a former student on a very tight budget (i.e. bank account with about 57 cents in it), I recommend just walking around Center City. One of my fave things to do at Penn was finish my day of classes at the science lab and then walk across the bridge (along Walnut Street) to Rittenhouse Square. I’d hang out in the park and read or go over to South Street, which you should def check out next time you’re in Philly. You might also like Old City. But I’m sure there are lots of exciting new things to do around campus that I don’t know about – it’s changed so much!

    • When I was a teacher, I was always telling my students how important having a day planner is. There’s nothing like the feeling of being super organized! And there’s no way I could remember half of what’s going on without it. There are lots of cute ones. You totally strike me as someone who would rock a day planner out 😀

  2. The little things
    It’s amazing how simple ordinary things can make a person very happy. I guess it’s one of those things that everyone has in common. Like whenever I get inspiration for a story idea, sometimes I get this over-whelming feeling of butterflies all inside me when I come up with a really great idea and that makes me very happy. 🙂

  3. Haven’t hit up LJ in awhile! Here I am.
    I totally remember those planners where you can put your own pictures in. I would always print out pics of my favorite bands from the internet to customize them, or print out pictures of my friends and I meeting those bands, or just friend pics in general. I always forget to use a planner nowadays, which is bad because I need one. My wall calendar doesn’t follow me everywhere. 😉
    I’ve never been to Philly. Good to know it’s nice! Have fun seeing John! 🙂

comment

