awesome author alert

How excited was I to finally meet Jonathan Tropper last night? Beyond excited, that’s how. He had an event at the Columbus Circle Borders to celebrate the release of This Is Where I Leave You in paperback. And not just any paperback.  His paperbacks have been reissued with shiny new covers. I think the artwork reflects the tone of his books beautifully.

Jonathan Tropper shiny new covers

If you haven’t read any of Jonathan’s books, you want to get right on that. They are all so warm and funny and introspective. And I know sometimes the term “brilliant” is thrown around loosely, but it definitely applies here. I’ve been a huge fan since Plan B, so I was stoked to finally hear him read and get to meet him. And guess what? He sort of knew who I was! Life is now complete.

I got there early to snag a good seat and signed my books while I was waiting. I’m always thrilled to see them on endcaps, but it’s even more thrilling when I get to share such good company:

When It Happens by Susane Colasanti endcap

Sharing space with Sarah Dessen, Candace Bushnell, and Cecily von Ziegesar? Sweet! And I totally need to read Burned by Ellen Hopkins. Now, you see that book by Kate Brian? Kate Brian is actually one of Kieran Scott’s pen names. Kieran is one of the warmest, funniest YA authors I’ve met. Even her website is cute! She’s running an awesome contest on her blog that you should def check out.

A few other links for you: The Paperback Princess interviewed me about inspiration, dessert, and the latest news.  Plus, Cem’s Book Hideout just reviewed both When It Happens and Take Me There.  Thanks for spreading the word, Cem!

8 thoughts on “awesome author alert

  1. I am so jealous that you got to meet Jonathan Tropper! I just recently started reading his books and am now a fan of his work. The first book I picked up of his was Everything Changes and was hooked from the opening paragraph. This of course lead me to purchase the rest of his novels. Cheers!

  2. I need to finish all of the books I need to read so I can buy all of Jonathan Trooper’s books and not leave my house until I have read them all from cover to cover.

  3. WHAT! I had no idea Kieran Scott’s pen name was Kate Brian! I’m so sad now! I didn’t go to meet her at the Teen Author Fest because I didn’t know who she was but I’ve been reading the Private series since it came out. Man!
    Well, I guess I’ll just have to go again next year 🙂
    Oh, and PS: You were right about One Tree Hill. I cannot stop watching it. I’m addicted! I’m completely in love with Lucas now and I blame you! Haha, just kidding. I just get attached to fictinal characters way to easily. Thanks for suggesting the show to me! 🙂

    • I knew you’d love it! Lucas is awesome, but CMM’s porcupine hair annoys me most of the time. And I just found out about Kieran/Kate, too! You really need to meet her next time – she’s adorable.

comment

