show love

I heard a rumor that Steve Carell is leaving The Office. I’m calling it a rumor because there’s just no way that can happen. The Office without Michael Scott would be like a Double Stuf Oreo without the Stuf. His World’s Best Boss mug doesn’t lie. Who else would bring donuts in on his birthday and organize a Lake Wallenpaupack booze cruise and throw an 05.05.05 party because it happens once every billion years?

Michael Scott

Only Michael Scott.

Now, I always try to see the bright side of a dark situation. The only good thing that will come of this is that Steve Carell will finally win his long overdue Emmy. They can’t just let him leave without giving him the award he’s deserved for the past five years. Β Give Steve Carell his freaking Emmy already! He really, really needs to win this time around. Then 30 Rock can hog all the Emmys again next year.

My love for The Office is immense, but that doesn’t mean I don’t have room for other show love. I’ve been Netflixing Big Love. It’s so good! If When It Happens is ever made into a movie, the oldest son from Big LoveΒ (Douglas Smith) would make a great Tobey. He has many Tobey-like qualities.

Douglas Smith in Big Love

My Netflix queue is fierce. There are several shows I’ve been waiting for all year to come out on DVD that are coming out in August. Which of course I’m psyched about. Only, now I have a big dilemma. Which of these August releases should I watch first?

  • Brothers & Sisters
  • Friday Night Lights
  • Gossip Girl
  • One Tree Hill
  • Parenthood
  • The Middle

Parenthood and The Middle are shows I haven’t seen yet. I keep hearing how awesome they are. The other four are some of my absolute fave shows. After The Office, of course. So which to move to the top of my queue? Conundrum!

20 thoughts on “show love

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about Steve! I can’t believe he’s leaving the show. I hate when favorite characters leave!
    I’ve never seen Gossip Girl or One Tree Hill, but I think The Middle is supposed to be good. I mean, you have the guy who plays the janitor on Scrubs (do you like Scrubs? Hilarious!) and the woman from Everybody Loves Raymond. Both very funny shows. I hope they turn out fabulous for you! πŸ™‚

    • Tricia, you need to get yourself into One Tree Hill. I think you’d love it. And Gossip Girl is way better than I was expecting.
      I’ve never seen Scrubs, but I hear it’s good.

      • I usually pick a show I like and watch all of the seasons online, so after I’m done with Medium I’ll try One Tree Hill. Thanks for the suggestion! πŸ™‚

  2. I’m so sad about Steve leaving, too. I’d honestly rather just have them end the show after this season than try and continue without him!
    Personally, I vote for Parenthood! I plan on catching up soon as well. I’ve only seen the first few episodes, but I loved them.

  3. I vote for Parenthood or The Middle or Gossip Girl, and probably in that order, lol. I haven’t seen any of the others but I really want to watch Brothers and Sisters sometime. But the DVDs are so expensive and I don’t know yet if I’ll like it.

    • What would I do without Netflix? Be completely clueless, that’s what. I hear you on the expense. I only buy DVDs if I absolutely love the show and will watch it over many times.

  4. Definitely Friday Night Lights!! Is that for season 4? It was so different from the past ones in a lot of ways, but SO amazing as well. Lots of new characters, but still appearances from Lyla & Matt… and lots of Tim Riggins. ♥

    • I *adore* Friday Night Lights. Yeah, season four is coming out. I’m bummed because I heard that the creator of the show never intended to keep all the original characters. Tim Riggins and Matt Saracen are two of the best characters ever. FNL without them must be like The Office without Steve Carell. But of course that won’t stop me from watching! Good to hear they’re still on in some way.

      • It’s just so good, eh? I have the previous three seasons on DVD, so I’ll definitely buy season 4.
        It’s sad losing those awesome characters, but somehow they make it work and make you fall in love with the new storytelling they do each season. *sigh* Genius…

  5. One Tree Hill!! Seriously you will not regret it. It has to be one of the best shows ever created. Enjoy. I know you will Love it. Take care.

  6. You should most definitely watch Friday Night Lights. I have recently converted my entire family- and they are not an easy audience to please. You’ve got great writing, compelling characters, and (what most television seems to be missing these days) heart. Plus, if that isn’t enough, I have two words for you: Tim. Riggins. Watch the show, and you’ll understand.
    -Mal

    • Oh, I understand very well, my friend. I’ve seen the first three seasons and…yeah. I’m also a fan of Matt Saracen. And yes, it’s the heart of the show that gives me goosebumps every time I hear the opening theme ❀

      • I highly highly reccomend watching One Tree Hill. Like, seriously. No, like legitatemly seriously.
        Yeah, it might be overplayed or too dramatic, but that’s just what’s so great about it.
        Every episode leaves me in tears, but also jaw-ajar because of how epic the endings of each show are.
        It’s a TV series you SERIOUSLY SERIOUSLY SERIOUSLY do not want to miss, Susane!!
        Please just give it a try πŸ™‚

        • Dude, I feel you – I’m a big One Tree Hill fan! I’ve seen all the seasons up to this new one coming out. I even own season one (and could totally own the others and watch them many times). What I have to decide is whether to watch Friday Night Lights before One Tree Hill. It’s a tough decision, but I think FNL will win that battle πŸ˜‰

comment

