the high life

I’ve been hesitant to post the title of my fifth book. Titles can change, even at the last minute. But it looks like we’re keeping this one. I love it when titles work on several different levels, which this one does. So I’m happy to tell you that the title of my fifth book is So Much Closer. I hope you love it as much as I do. I’m aware that Goodreads has posted a pub date. However, the pub date is still being finalized. As soon as I have it, I’ll of course let you know.

This next bit of news is way more exciting for me than it is for you. But I just have to share that our laundry room was totally renovated and new machines were brought in that use smart cards instead of quarters. Those of you who live here in New York or are in college can relate to my joy. You know what this means. No more scavenging for quarters! You put money on the smart card online, then get your laundry on. The whole laundry thing has always been a mystery to me. Why does it have to be such an ordeal? All I have to do is take the elevator down to the basement to do a wash. I don’t even have to schlep over to Wash World anymore. Somehow laundry still manages to take a way bigger chunk out of the day than it rightly should. Part of my ideal New York lifestyle involves a laundry room in my place. Clearly, I have a way to go before I’m living the high life.

Like with air conditioning. My ideal lifestyle involves some serious central air. Not an air conditioner I avoid turning on as much as I can because I’d rather be hot than produce pollutants and greenhouse gases and waste energy. Yesterday was the first day I had to turn my air conditioner on. Only three days after the summer solstice! What a disgrace. But man, when it’s hot and humid in the city, breathing can be a challenge. That’s why I’m thankful for the Colasanti Tree. Fellow YA author Eric Luper planted a Japanese maple in his yard to help reverse the effects of my air conditioner. How awesome is he? Very, I know.

If you can’t be someplace refreshing when it’s gross out, the next best thing is a Pina Colada cupcake from Crumbs. Vanilla cake, pineapple filling, coconut frosting, with an umbrella and a cherry on top. It’s almost like you’re lounging on an island with one of those touristy pineapple drinks I love. Almost.

Pina Colada cupcakes at Crumbs

Stay cool!

17 thoughts on “the high life

  1. Love!
    Love the new title! Reminds me of one of my absolute favorite Death Cab for Cutie songs, “Transatlanticism”: “I need you so much closer…” Gives me chills!
    And those cupcakes look nothing short of amazing. I’m all about the coconut.

  2. Yes! I cant wait for the new book!
    I remember you talking about this book at the last stop of your fate tour! Now that the name is set I want to tell you how much I love it! I cant wait to hear more about the plot and the official release date.
    oh and BTW those cupcakes are making me drool…lol

  3. I love the title….
    You picked from Transatlanticism, Death Cab, right? Will your new book be written in the same way as “When it Happens” from the two different stand points? I’ve enjoyed your recent books that were written in the first person by the protagonist, but there is just something about hearing both perspectives that keeps me interested.

    • Re: I love the title….
      Totally Death Cab!
      So Much Closer is actually told from one perspective. I love hearing the boy’s perspective, too! It’s tricky, though, because I have to create a type of story that won’t be ruined by hearing the other side. My single POV books wouldn’t have worked that way at all. But I’ll be returning to the When It Happens format soon πŸ˜€

  4. Yes! Can’t wait for the 5th book! I’m sure it will be awesome! πŸ™‚
    I love all of your book titles. I can’t wait to see the cover for this one too. I wonder if I will fall in love with the font again πŸ™‚
    Next time I’m in New York I am definitely getting myself to Crumbs to check out these awesome cupcakes! Is it in Greenwich?

    • You will freak over Crumbs. We call this place “the Village” and yes, there are two Crumbs locations in the Village, plus a bunch of others around the city. Good luck making a cupcake selection!
      Here’s a secret: I’ve already seen my new cover. It’s not finalized yet and I probably won’t be able to post it for a while, but I absolutely LOVE it. It’s my new favorite cover ❀

      • Wow! Well if you love your fifth cover more than Something Like Fate’s cover, it must be pretty awesome! Everyone I know loves your cover πŸ™‚ They see it in my car and always comment on how awesome it is πŸ™‚

  5. Yay! Congrats on the book title and soon-to-be-announced release date! It must be so strange to be in two different book worlds at the same time, since Something Like Fate was only *just* released. I totally got the “So Much Closer” reference since it came up in Something Like Fate as well. (After this weekend I’ll be more than halfway done with my England entry and after THAT I am writing your review… I haven’t forgotten!)
    We still have quarter laundry so I totally understand your joy over that sector. πŸ™‚
    Those are my favorite cupcakes that you’ve posted so far! (And let’s face it, you’ve posted a lot of cupcakes. =D) Those little umbrellas get me every time, and the inside sounds so yummy and summery and vacation-y.

    • Thank you! Yeah, it’s always a bit strange when a new book comes out while I’m finishing up the next one. By the time I have a new book out, it seems like I wrote it so long ago. I’m still getting used to that whole schedule.
      These Pina Colada cupcakes are so cute and delicious. I think they were the Cupcake of the Week last summer and were so popular that Crumbs decided to bring them back every summer. Happy times!

  6. Take Me There
    When It Happens
    Waiting For You
    Something Like Fate
    and
    So Much Closer!
    I think that there is definitely a 3 word title trend! I like the new title, it fits well with your other ones. : )
    ~Genevieve

  7. So much closer
    That’s an awesome title! Can you give us a hint to what the story is about???I can’t wait till it’s out! πŸ™‚

comment

