author fangirl

Whenever I’m getting ready to have new author photos taken, I dread it. Because I know none of them will turn out the way I want. At the same time, I’m optimistic, like maybe this time the photos won’t totally suck. Seriously, for every 100 photos of me there might be three good ones. Good not great. But when we took new pics on the High Line last week, I actually liked some of them. It was a miracle! I’m aware that I could just have professional photos taken and call it a day. Which is what I’ll do next year when my braces come off. For now, though, I’m relieved that I have a few decent ones to choose from. Like this one:

Susane Colasanti on the High Line Photo credit:  SP
Hair by Mimi at Supercuts (hope you’re enjoying your beach bumming summer, girl!)
Orthodontia by Invisalign
Bracelets by Forever 21 (only $5.99!)

Taking photos for my fifth book has an unreal quality to it. I mean, becoming an author was a fantasy for so long, not something I was planning on as my career. The authors who first inspired me to start writing were (and still are) my rock stars. S.E. Hinton, Judy Blume, Louise Fitzhugh…their books helped me survive some very hard times. Sandra Scoppettone wrote two amazing teen novels that I could not read enough times. The Late Great Me and Trying Hard to Hear You are phenomenal. If I could have gotten in touch with Sandra to tell her how much her books meant to me back then, I would have been ecstatic. So how amazing is it that I can email her now? And acknowledge her in my latest book, and get her address and send her a copy? Talk about unreal. It’s like I exist on both sides of the dynamic, but more of me is still on the fangirl side.

Being an author has some other perks. Like getting to be friends with other authors. How cool is that? It’s always fun to read a book by a friend when their book turns out to be awesome. This was the case with Gentlemen by Michael Northrop. Every time I see Michael, I have to work the word “gentlemen” into the conversation. Or declare him to be a gentleman for some reason, which still counts. I never find this joke to be anything less than hilarious. Michael graciously puts up with me. So you can understand how thrilled I am to report that I loved Gentlemen! It’s one of those riveting books you look forward to picking up again. And any book that makes me laugh out loud at two in the morning gets a gold star. So a big, shiny gold star for you, Michael! As any true gentleman deserves.

14 thoughts on “author fangirl

  1. I know what you mean about the pictures. I thought it was really nice of you to take a bunch of different pictures with me at the Teen Author Fest for that reason. I still look weird in them though!
    And I agree with you on the author thing as well. It’s so amazing I get to chat with you and Elizabeth Scott and any other author who has email or facebook or writes letters. (And, of course, anyone who puts up with my rambling.) It makes my day!
    It would be so cool to be in the “in crowd” of authors like you, Sarah Dessen, Elizabeth Scott, Deb Caletti, Simone Elkeles. I mean, to be able to hang out with my favorite authors would be awesome! 🙂
    Hopefully, if I’m an author some day, that can be one of the perks!
    Glad your author career path is going great. I can’t wait till the 5th one already! 🙂

    • No, I look weird in them! You look adorable.
      I have to admit, I’m totally jealous that you get to be in touch with your fave authors. I would have been bouncing off the walls if the Internet and YA genre were like this back in the day! It blows my mind.

  2. I love that pic of you too! It’s always easier for other people to love pics of you than for you to love pics of yourself, so I’m glad that we both agree on this one. LOL. Now I totally understand the expression too – SP took the photo! Maybe that helps. 🙂
    Are you actually wearing Invisalign in the photo? ‘Cause I can’t tell at all…
    You make such a good point about being on both sides of the fence and knowing what it’s like to be both a reader and an author. It’s honestly the best place to be because you haven’t let go of all the great things about being a reader. Not only do you understand other readers, but you still *enjoy* the author realm in the same way. It’s not all “whatever” yet. It’s so silly when someone finally becomes an author or musician or actor and then all the thrill wears off and they don’t even notice the perks anymore. (I know a few of those people!)

    • Dude, I don’t think I could ever feel jaded about this! It’s all so amazing to me. I still haven’t completely grasped what’s going on.
      I’m totally wearing my Invisalign in the pic. The invisible quality is much appreciated. Guess that’s why they’re so expensive!

  3. I take horrible pictures. I doubt you, beautiful and wonderful Susane Colasanti, are capable of taking a bad picture. Book five! I always go a little insane when you mention it.

  4. Thanks!
    Look at me, stumbling onto my seldom-used LJ account (I have like three friends: how do I keep them all straight?!) to say thank you. I put your gold star in the middle of my forehead and am going to walk around the upper east side with it glinting gloriously in the sun!
    That author photo is the highlight of the Highline! I just had them taken, too (along the East River). and had to pour through like 400 shots to find a few that wouldn’t frighten the public and panic the animals. It would be sort of funny if every author had their publicity photo selected randomly from all the shots (which would basically be like picture day in elementary school). Every author except us, of course!

    • Re: Thanks!
      Your new author photos are the best! Yet another reminder that I need to stop putzing around and get professional shots taken.
      I heard that if you go into any store on Madison Avenue with a gold star on your forehead, you’ll immediately be rewarded with a delicious Snickers bar. But that could just be a rumor.

comment

