carnival time

Are you so excited for the Teen Author Carnival? I am. It’s going to be a blast!

Monday, May 24 5:00-8:00 pm
NYPL Jefferson Market Branch

425 6th Avenue (at 10th Street)
New York, NY 10011
Phone: 212.243.4334

I was able to score some inside info for you regarding the schedule. Here’s how the Carnival will go down. Starting at 5:00, there will be three half-hour panels you may attend. In case you can’t get there right at 5:00, no worries. Each of the 30 authors will be assigned to one panel, so if you attend from 5:00 until about 6:45 you can go to each panel. They are:

The Panel of Teen Love
The Tower Room – Floor Three

Susane Colasanti, Holly Cupala, Alexandra Diaz, Simone Elkeles, Gayle Forman, Kody Keplinger, Heidi Kling, Sarah Ockler, Elizabeth Scott, Kieran Scott

The Real Teen Life Panel
The YA Room – Floor Two

Stephanie Kuehnert, Sarah Darer Littman, Barry Lyga, Sarah Mylnowski, Lauren Oliver, Courtney Sheinmel, Jon Skovron, New Vizzini, Melissa Walker, Amy Brecount White

The Mystery / Fantasy Panel
The Red Room – Floor One

Linda Gerber, Judith Graves, Violet Haberdasher, Tonya Hurley, Melissa Kantor, Michael Northrop, Eliot Schrefer, Jeri Smith-Ready, Maryrose Wood, Michelle Zink

Book giveaways will happen during the Q&A sessions. After the panel discussions, there will be signings and books sales in the Children’s Room on the first floor (I think that’s where Teen Author Reading Nights are) until 8:00. And there will be candy. Lots and lots of candy. I’m still deciding which kind to bring.

Hope to see you there!

2 thoughts on “carnival time

  1. Question: What do you do if you get to one of these author festivals and you haven’t read any books by some of the authors you’re interacting with, but they’ve read yours? I didn’t have enough time to read as fast as I’d have liked to during grad school, and there’s SO many authors I have yet to check out now. (I used to be all in-the-know as a kid ’cause I had time then!) What if you don’t even know who some of the authors are? Is it ever awkward, or just the norm?

    • I’ve been on both sides of that fence. Sometimes authors have read my books while I haven’t read theirs, and sometimes it’s the opposite. It’s all good. I think everyone understands that no one can read everything. When I meet other authors I don’t expect them to have read my books at all – it’s always a nice surprise when they have. And if I haven’t yet read theirs but I want to, I’ll let them know I’m looking forward to reading their book. It’s def the norm for authors to be interacting with one another without really knowing who’s read their books.

comment

