nyc events

If you’re in the New York area and looking for some fun opportunities to chill with YA authors, good news! There are two upcoming events here in NYC. I’ll be at both of them and would love to see you:

NYC Teen Author Carnival
Monday, May 24 at 5:00 pm
NYPL Jefferson Market Branch
425 6th Avenue (at 10th Street)
Phone: 212.243.4334

Teen Author Reading Night
Wednesday, June 2 at 6:00 pm

NYPL Jefferson Market Branch
425 6th Avenue (at 10th Street)
Phone: 212.243.4334

You know when you’re reading a good book and you can’t put it down because you have to know what happens next so you stay up way too late reading it even though you know the next day you’ll be dragging? Yeah, that describes my relationship with Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles. I didn’t even care how tired I was. It’s so freaking good! This is why I’m extra stoked about the Carnival. Simone will be there and I’ll get to meet her and it will be awesome. Here’s a complete listing of authors who will be at the festivities. We’re going to have a blast!

In other book nerd news, The Ultimate YA Reading Group has honored me with being their author of the month. Here’s the first part of their interview with me. In case you can’t hear how loudly I was laughing at the question about whether I was a Golden Kid in high school, trust me, it was really loud. And over at I Heart Daily, a set of five summer reads from Penguin is up for grabs. You can enter here.

Lastly, I’d like to say farewell to the Empire Diner. I can’t believe this old-school NYC diner shut down. It’s really, really sad. We’re losing so many mom-and-pop establishments, places that have been around for years and have defined the essence of this city, because rents are beyond outrageous. It’s such a shame. Well, those of us with good Empire Diner memories will cherish them, I’m sure.

Empire Diner

2 thoughts on “nyc events

  1. šŸ˜¦
    So upset about the Empire Diner. I loved that place. It’s ridic how Manhattan and New York in general is being turned into a place for the rich. I was born, raised and go to college here and yet I’ll probably never be able to have my own family here. I hate it.
    Also, hopefully I’ll be able to stop by one of these events! Love your work. Keep it up.

comment

