book tour, part two

Picking up where Book Tour, Part One left off…San Francisco! My first event was an afternoon tea at Copperfield’s Books. I just loved the idea of an afternoon tea. And Copperfield’s did such an awesome job of promoting the event:

Something Like Fate event at Copperfield's

Next up was the big Books Inc. Not Your Mother’s Book Club YA launch party in Berkeley. This was the first YA event in the new Books Inc. location, which is gorgeous – skylights, wood, airy. I had such a fun time on the panel with Jenny Han, Michael Grant, Cynthia Omololu, and Beth Fantaskey. We found out that Michael Grant wrote some of the Sweet Valley Highs! Jenny and I were in awe. I had to get up in the middle of Q&A to hug him for that. An old friend from college showed up. I didn’t recognize him at first, but then I totally did! I love how book tours can inspire these kinds of reunions. Another awesome part of the night was finally getting to meet Jandy Nelson and Cheryl Renee Herbsman, two outstanding authors whose books I blurbed. Here’s Cheryl, me, and Jandy:

Cheryl Herbsman, Susane Colasanti, and Jandy Nelson

I was only back home for a night before leaving for my next event in New Jersey. If you’ve read Something Like Fate, you know that I have a thing for train tracks. Especially train tracks in the middle of the woods. I’m from Middle of Nowhere New Jersey where train tracks represented possibility, exciting adventures, and life-altering journeys. So of course I took the train to Books & Greetings in Northvale. The store’s owner, Kenny, is freaking amazing. He had huge posters in the window and flyers and tons of displays around. And the event was a pizza party!

Something Like Fate pizza party by Books & Greetings

Lauren M. and her sister came all the way from NYC. I was totally honored that Danielle’s copy of When It Happens was falling apart, just like my copy of The Outsiders was from reading it so many times! A fellow teacher from my old school came with his fam and daughter, Rachel. All the girls were wearing Silly Bandz. I’m not sure when these busted out as the new hot trend (actually, it was explained to me that they were in like three years ago and then they were out and now they’re in again). I haven’t noticed anyone in New York wearing them. But I like being trendy with these kinds of things, so Kenny gave me packs of zoo animals, space, and glitter dinosaurs. Plus, he let me take my floor display header home. Thanks for a super fun time, Kenny!

Books & Greetings event for Something Like Fate by Susane Colasanti

Tomorrow I’ll be in Connecticut at RJ Julia:

Monday, May 10 – 4:30
Reading, discussion and signing
RJ Julia
768 Boston Post Road
Madison, CT 06443
Phone: 203.245.3959

Then it’s off to Chicago way early Tuesday morning. Scary early, in fact. But readers await on the other side, so it’s all good. Hope to see you this week!

5 thoughts on “book tour, part two

  1. Oh my, the Silly Bandz. Don’t even get me started.
    I’m glad you’re having a good time! I’ve always wanted to ride an amtrax, with closed off rooms and tables. It’s dream of mine. ;]

  2. Wow, you must feel sooooo excited when you see massive lifesized posters for YOU and your books!!! The pizza party is so cute. What a great idea.
    I love that you dig Sweet Valley books! I read them all the time in middle school.

comment

