fate playlist

Yesterday was the 40th Anniversary of Earth Day! Did you show some planetary love? I did by not driving anywhere. Oh, wait. That’s every day. Well, I did fill my Klean Kanteen with Tazo Refresh Herbal Infusion. If the only beverage I could drink (besides water, duh) were this beverage, I would be completely okay with that. Infusions are the best. At the W Hotel in South Beach, they had a big pitcher of ice water with oranges, lemons, limes, mint, and strawberries on top. So refreshing! I also love cucumber water in the summer.

Today is day five of my blog tour. Find out which three literary characters I’d want to meet over at The Page Flipper. And did you catch day four at Shooting Stars Mag? I discussed whether I believe in fate. I also posted the Something Like Fate playlist. Creating playlists for my books is really important to me. While I’m writing each one, there are certain songs I listen to over and over that help me shape key scenes. And there are always songs that reflect the tone of my story so well. You can find the playlists for all of my books on my website.

Here’s the Something Like Fate playlist, along with my explanations about why I included each song:

1. “Northern Sky” – Nick Drake

This song is all about finally finding the person you’ve been searching for. After waiting for so long, this is what it feels like to find and be found.

2. “Dice” – Finley Quaye

I first heard “Dice” on an ep of The O.C. Ryan was running in slow motion to get to Marissa on New Year’s Eve. I always think about that scene when I hear this song. It’s about taking a chance and making a decision to be with someone. Nothing can compare to when you roll the dice and swear your love’s for me.

3. “Move On” – Jet

The Unknown can be scary. Especially when you’re letting go of something you don’t want to leave. We try to trust that the next choice we make will lead us down the right path. This song is how it feels to make that choice.

4. “Cry Me a River” – Justin Timberlake

When the person who is your whole world chooses to be with someone else, then realizes that they made the wrong choice. Angsting!

5. “In Your Room” – The Bangles

How much do I love this song? I obsessed over it in 10th grade. That was before I had a boyfriend, so I could only imagine what it would be like to make out with a boy in his room. There’s something about seeing his room for the first time, that feeling of here are all his clothes. Classic.

6. “Transatlanticism” – Death Cab for Cutie

Death Cab was on heavy rotation while I was writing Something Like Fate, so it’s no surprise that this song plays an important role in the book. I need you so much closer…

7. “Do You Know Me” – John Mayer

Surprise, John Mayer is on my playlist! No, but this is one of the most wistful, beautiful songs I’ve ever heard about about longing for someone you don’t know. Longing for the idea of someone. Waking up from a dream you had about this person you’re searching for with such a strong sense of who they are. It’s like you can’t even stand it, knowing they’re out there but not knowing where. It also applies to the connection Lani and Jason have. When you first meet a soul mate, there’s this immediate connection you can’t explain, but you could never deny.

8. “Bring on the Night” – The Police

There’s something so magical about the night. Lani lives for those summer nights with Jason. The night has an energy the day can never know.

9. “Nightswimming” – R.E.M.

This song is perfect for the scene where Jason is teaching Lani how to swim at night.

10. “Maybe I’m Amazed” – Paul McCartney

Jason is overwhelmed by his feelings for Lani in a way that changes his whole life. That’s what this song is about – being amazed by how much one person can make your world a better place. The live version of this song is awesome, by the way.

11. “Let Go” – Frou Frou

If you overcome your fear and give in to your heart’s desires, there’s magic waiting on the other side.

12. “Helplessly Hoping” – CSN&Y

They are for each other.

2 thoughts on “fate playlist

  1. It’s funny — I’ve read SOMETHING LIKE FATE, and thought of REM’s NIGHTSWIMMING during that scene (it’s a song that has some sentimental meaning, for me). How cool to know that it was on the playlist for this book. Thank you for sharing!

comment

