waiting for you contest

The waiting is over. Waiting for You is out in paperback today! My author copies arrived last week, complete with strict on-sale date packaging:

Waiting for You by Susane Colasanti

Way more books than I can fit in my apartment can only mean one thing. It’s time for a contest to give some away! Two winners will be selected. First prize is Waiting for You plus your choice of either When It Happens or Take Me There. The runner-up will receive a copy of Waiting for You. All books will be signed to whomever you’d like.

SInce National TV Turnoff Week is April 19-25, I’ve decided to connect this very important annual event with my contest. The idea of National TV Turnoff Week is to spend that time watching absolutely no TV. If that seems impossible, just try it. You’ll be amazed at how much extra time you have every single day. To enter the contest, leave a comment telling me three things you will do that week instead of watching TV. If not watching TV for a week turns out to be impossible for you, your goal can be to watch less TV. Even watching one hour less a day can make a huge difference. That thing you keep promising yourself you’ll start doing to improve your life? This is a great time to start!

Waiting for You Contest rules:

1. Enter by leaving a comment here telling me three things you will do instead of watching TV during National TV Turnoff Week.

2. Include your first name and email address with your comment.

3. Entries must be received by 11:11 pm on Sunday, April 18.

4. This contest is only open to US residents. However, if you live abroad and have a contact in the States who can receive the prize for you, it can be sent to their address.

5. Your entry will be counted twice if you link to this contest on your blog, Facebook, Twitter, or other site (leave that link with your comment).

Let’s get this party started. I can’t wait to hear your plans!

67 thoughts on “waiting for you contest

  1. 1. Read
    2. Write my little heart out
    3. Go spend more time outside since it’s not longer freezing butt cold!
    Amber
    justyourtypicalbookblog(at)hotmail.com
    Thanks for the giveaway!!

  2. Wow, I didn’t know there was National TV Turn-off Week! πŸ™‚
    Okay, three things I’d do:
    1. Read a classic book. I’m not a classic book reader, but it’s one of my goals for this year, so a week should give me time to finish that book.
    2. Write. I’m working on finishing my 2008 NaNoWriMo novel, and no TV means more time to write. πŸ™‚
    3. Go to the beach! It’s so hot where I am now, and a week at the beach should just be lovely. πŸ™‚
    – Tina (tinamats[at]gmail.com)

  3. I really find this “National TV Turnoff week” a great idea. I wish we had it in France too.
    I’m not a big TV watcher anyway but well, what will I do in stead of watching Castle and Grey’s Anatomy ??….
    – READ, that’s a given,
    – BAKE, because it’s one of my favorite relaxing past time ever,
    – GO OUT with my two young sons. Spring is finally here and we’ll all enjoy some good time in the sun (… with a good book too ;-).
    Thanks for the contest and congrats on your paperback release.
    Emmanuelle (mollytucker@hotmail.fr)

  4. 1. Finish reading “The Cupcake Queen”
    2. This gives me more time to finish my homework after band practice
    3. Add 2 or 3 more chapters into a book I started to write.
    Wow, this whole “no tv” thing could be good.
    Evie
    Cutieeve_09@yahoo.com

  5. I don’t watch much TV to begin with, so I think I’ll participate.
    1. Read! I’m hoping to read Jhumpa Lahiri’s The Namesake or Interpreter of Maladies, since I finished Unaccustomed Earth and liked it.
    2. Spend time outside, now that it’s warm in Ithaca.
    3. Study for finals, which I have in May. Yikes.
    4. Spend more time talking to friends?
    Cristy
    WooyaPooya@gmail.com

  6. Oh, the new spines are so beautiful! I think my problem is more in the Computer usage area since I can watch TV and be online at the same time. So I think I will try to cut down both!
    Three things I’ll do during TV Turnoff Week:
    1. Make a schedule for myself for homework, studying and workout time.
    2. Go to my library and fill out a Volunteer form so I can volunteer in the summer.
    3. Have a picnic with a couple of my friends in celebration of the recent nice weather! I love picnics.
    A Link to your contest on my blog: http://the-truth-about-books.blogspot.com/2010/04/before-i-fall-by-lauren-oliver.html (The link is at the bottom)
    I plan to give away the signed copy of Waiting For You on my blog if I win (if that’s okay) because I already have Waiting For You. I just need Take Me There to complete my collection of Susane Colasanti masterpieces πŸ™‚

  7. I don’t watch any TV, accept for Glee (with which I’m obsessed) and seeing as it starts on the 13th and then is on every Wednesday I will have to cheat for an hour during this week. But, only an hour! So yeah :-p.
    What I will be doing during the time that is not the hour Glee is on:
    – I shall be reading and reviewing
    – I shall be playing outside and throwing a football even though it makes it obnoxiously difficult to lift my arm up after.
    – I shall be not waiting until the last minute to do my homework. (At least, that’s what I’m telling myself right now :-p).
    Also, I linked to the contest from my Facebook, but I am apparently challenged in the linking department so, yeah. Here is the link to my page πŸ˜€
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/TheBookGirl?ref=nf
    Thanks for the contest!
    Renee
    blue_eyed_girl426@yahoo.com

    • Love your story, Matt! My friend Laila and I still talk about that class. It’s funny how we all remember it, as if having a class where a 94 is equivalent to a C is fun or something.

      • Glad you liked it! Though the class kicked my a$$, I till remember it fondly for letting me chat with you a bunch. *sheepish grin* I had a class a year later where the prof gave the exact same lecture every day (1 lecture the entire f***ing semester!), and the mean on the final was a 15. …he never tested what he taught. Go figure!

  8. 1. Reading more is always a good plan!
    2. Try my hand at a recipe my boyfriend and I keep saying we’re going to make, but then never get around to trying.
    3. Spend some time talking with my little sister.
    Love the idea of National TV Turnoff Week and will definitely plan on participating! Would love to win a copy of the book, too; loved ‘When It Happens’ πŸ™‚
    Thank you!
    Megan
    writing.meg [at] gmail.com

  9. See how reading your blog enlightens me? I had no idea about this week—and I definitely need to watch less tv. So my goals for that week will be:
    1) Write….my book has a beginning but no middle or end. πŸ™‚
    2) Workout….I am a bridesmaid in my friends wedding which is (gasp!) in 3 1/2 weeks. And of course, I need to look fabulous!–or at least decent. πŸ™‚
    3) Study my spanish….Me encanta Susane Colasanti!
    -Sarah
    My e-mail is shjennings08@gmail.com
    And I linked to your blog here: http://livin2dance.livejournal.com/

  10. 1. I think I would spend time to read my grandmother her favorite book. Her eyes are going, and sometimes she gets frustrated with having to read the large print books. She’d love it if I rad to her.
    2. I would also like to read more Sherlock Holmes. I bought the complete works back in October, but I’ve only read a few stories. I’d want to finish that up.
    3. Lastly, I’d want to start Yoga with my mom. We don’t spend nearly enough time together and it would be a great way to bond.
    -Amber McLain (starsaresobright[at]hotmail.com)
    Here is the link I posted on my Twitter:
    http://twitter.com/ErrorxAmber/status/11710738253

  11. 1. Spend time with my beautiful baby girl.
    2. READ! I have a list that keeps getting bigger.
    3. Go to the gym to start my new healthy life style!
    ❀ Michelle [tracymichelle07@yahoo.com]

  12. Abso-freaking-lutely awesome!!
    This contest ends at 11:11? How cool!
    1) I am gonna try sewing up two dresses. My goal for the month of March was to sew at least seven. I barely managed to finish two!
    This month is going to be way different… I’m gonna sew seven for sure!
    2) Go geocaching! Thats probably my only cool hobby.
    3) Surprisingly enough, I hope to read less. Within the last week, I’ve read a minimum of a book a day (on Saturday I read three decent sized books!).
    Dude. That just shows how boring my life is. Maybe I’ll try to spend more time with my family? Or my friends?
    Well those are three things I plan to do instead of watching television. (Or in the case of number three, what I WON’T do.)
    Love, Hannah

    • Re: Abso-freaking-lutely awesome!!
      That’s how I am with books! It’s ridiculous how many books I read in one short amount of time. You’re not alone πŸ™‚

      • Re: Abso-freaking-lutely awesome!!
        Haha yeah!
        It’s crazy because if I do anything wrong, (lets say I bomb a test) my parents punish me by taking away my books. Most parents encourage their children to read… or so I thought.
        At the moment, cheap cardboard boxes are holding my precious books.
        God, the stress is killing me! My precious babies trapped in the garage (which is nfested with terrifying beasts, if I may add) is not good.
        Holy pajamas you’re just lucky you don’t have my parents! Wanna know the worst part? I’m only semi-joking about that.
        Love, Hannah S.
        I know, dramatic much? πŸ™‚
        Also, I LOVE your book blog! Fun!

  13. Darn. I forgot to include my e-mail address.
    xoxosweeet(at)yahoo(dot)com
    You know how I used the whole (at) instead of the @ symbol? Yeah, I don’t know why I do that. I see lots of people doing that, so I guess I just copied them? Eh, who knows!
    Love, Hannah

  14. This is the same week as my school vacation. And here I was, planning to watch old movies and eat croissants all day.
    1. I will read. I will read and read and read and read.
    2. I will write. I will plow my way through the third draft of the book I have been working on for the past few months.
    3. I will walk my dog. I will see my friends. I will smile. :]
    Robby
    robertfrancisauld @ gmail . com

    • Wow, I’m excited for this! πŸ˜€
      1. Gardening. Spring and the sun is in London so I’m planting some flowers! Love love love it when they bloom and you know you’ve made it so!
      2. Visiting the castles of England – most are on top of a hill so I also get to do some hiking! Love this time of year for these visits!
      3. I have signed up for a pottery class and I’d take this over TV anytime!
      Thankies!
      Dwayne
      dwaynehalim@hotmail.co.uk (I have a US mailing add)
      Tweeted @ http://twitter.com/Choisooyeon/status/12404694828

  15. 1. Play board games with my family (i love an old fashioned board game….like clue!)
    2. find a new music artist to ❀
    3. READ (of course). over spring break i finally had some time to read and i took full advantage of it(i read 5 books) and it felt so good to read a lot again since i havent in awhile with my busy schedule. Even though i don’t watch that much tv, i will use this week to get my reading on πŸ™‚
    Mia (m.frasca@sbcglobal.net)

  16. I Love Waiting for You
    I love watching TV, but I don’t watch it TOO much (or so I like to think). I agree with one of the earlier comments: I spend way too much time on the internet (and I don’t even have a Facebook to distract me!), so that week I will be working on managing my time better in general. Here’s what I plan to do:
    1. Spend more time on schoolwork
    2. Talk to friends more often
    3. Sleep. I am eternally behind on it.
    Thanks for having another contest! I love this book. It was my 18th birthday book :).
    Noelle
    noellesmile@austin.rr.com

  17. I found you on Twitter, and I’ve now followed and retweeted you!
    I don’t watch much TV, so I can definitely turn it off, but I do spend way too much time on internet, so I’ll turn that off at night when I’m not working.
    Instead, I’ll:
    1. Walk the puppy a second time. He’s energetic and I’m 10 pounds heavier than I’d like to be. Another two miles will be good for both of us!!
    2. Go to the library and get those German tapes I’ve been procrastinating on and practice practice practice them.
    3. Work on my next book using a notebook and pen instead of the computer, where I get sidetracked by all this social networking stuff. πŸ™‚
    My email is heidi_willis(at)verizon(dot)net

  18. Jessica – http://www.foreveryalit.com
    Yay! What a pretty stack!
    1. I never watch TV anyway, so this will be easy. πŸ™‚ I’m going to READ a lot, work on my writing, and download and listen to lots of good music from iTunes. πŸ™‚
    2. Jessica – foreveryalit at gmail. com

  19. Waiting for You contest
    In honor of National TV Turnoff Week, I will:
    1.) Spend much more time writing and reading.
    2.) Spend time outdoors in the sunshine walking so that I can get into shape!
    3.)Catch up on some much need R&R πŸ™‚
    Nia G. –cwriter15@yahoo.com

  20. 1. Write some good lyric’s!!
    2. Volunteer, I love doing stuff for others like adopting a family and helping out at the animal hospital
    3. Try and teach myslef how to play gutair or maybe I’ll take some lessons :]
    Nicole
    antiprincesshb@aim.com

  21. 1. read at least 3 books (i have not been able to read my usual 3 books a week for about a month and want to be able to do it again)
    2. not put off my homework till the night before like usual
    3. hang out with my sister since if i am not at school or with my friends i am watching things on TV i have recorded
    -Katherine katiewillis10@yahoo.com

  22. First, I’ll definitely read and read:) I will also organize and clean up my room and last but not the least, rest and listen to amazing music!
    Thanks for this contest! I’m really looking forward to reading Waiting for You!
    Sylvia (sylvia_uy4@yahoo.com)

  23. I lost the last contest so hopefully I will win this one! πŸ™‚
    Wow, not watching TV will be hard…BUT I CAN DO IT! πŸ™‚
    Three Things I Can Do Instead of Watching TV:
    1. Catch up on Homeschool, im a little behind!!
    2. Take my sister to the park and get some fresh air! (She has been begging me for weeks!)
    3. Now that I am finally old enough to work, get a summer job!!!!! (It looks like alot of fun!)
    Name:
    Katie
    Email:
    GreenEyedK80@aol.com
    I posted this on my Twitter (I @’d to you!) but here is the link anyway: http://twitter.com/GreenEyedK80
    Hope I win! πŸ™‚
    Not watching TV will be good, I will be able to get ALOT done! ❀

  24. My TV-less week? Hmm…
    1. Finally get around to reading Suite Scarlett.
    2. Take photos of the town I’m currently living in, since I’m leaving in a few months.
    3. Write, write, write!
    -sarah (sarahblackstock@gmail.com)

  25. Nicole A. !!
    3 thing I want to achieve at TV turnoff week:
    1- Get along with my sister.
    2- Read a book that has more than 200 pages.
    3- Make the best pancakes ever!!!

  26. I’m guessing by TV you also mean Hulu and Netflix (movies and TV shows). Now, I can cut out normal TV, Hulu, and TV shows. But I don’t know if I’d be able to go an entire week without seeing a movie. SO, I pledge to try to cut out all TV and most movies for a week.
    Since I tend to only watch TV at night, these are the activities I’ll do instead:
    1. READ! Read, read, read.
    2. Work on school work.
    There really isn’t much else I can do at 9PM, so I couldn’t think of a 3rd thing.
    caprubia(at)gmail(dot)com
    Genevieve
    OH, just came up with another new thing. Work on my BLOG! : )

  27. A week without TV… now that’s a challenge I’m willing to accept.
    1. Read:) With school there just hasn’t been enough time as I’d like there to be lately.
    2. Help my dad with the yard work. I felt a bit guilty not helping him last weekend.
    3. Practice, practice, practice my lines for my state competition coming up on May 1 for National History Day. I’m partcipating in a group performance about the radio and if we win we go to Washington DC!
    Thanks for your much appreciated work you’ve done with entertaining the world and all. Your books are amazing and I can’t wait to read Something Like Fate:)
    Amanda
    mandarenee@embarqmail.com

  28. Waiting For You Contest
    1-Read more
    2-Spend more quality time with my husband
    3-Take my dog on longer walks
    Lori
    Email Address–ltybur1(at)yahoo(dot)com

  29. I’ve never heard of National TV Turnoff Week, but that’s pretty cool! πŸ™‚
    1. I’ll definitely read some books that are piling up on my desk.
    2. Bake stuff for my friends.
    3. Play tennis!
    Angie
    angelilee91@gmail dot com

  30. There are a few shows that I watch every week, but I am going to keep my TV off and unplugged during this week. That’s what TiVO is for, right? The three things I will do during this week are:
    1) Finish the last couple of chapters of my novel. YES! FINALLY!
    2) Walk both my dogs now that it is warmer! I know they are both dying to go out on a walk, but they both hate the cold. They always turn around and head for the house in the winter.
    3) Read! Read! Read!
    Miranda L.
    e-mail:
    Miranda.lyons09@yahoo.com
    Facebook with link:
    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/profile.php?id=551879533

  31. During National Turn Off Your TV week the three things I will do besdies watching tv are:
    1) Study for my college finals coming up, YIKES!
    2) Read! OF COURSE!
    3) Spend time with family while I’m home for my father’s hip surgery.
    Aaron
    treetopturkey@yahoo.com

  32. NO TV FOR ME WEEK
    Hi Susane – I am so glad I looked up your site! I love that you have a background as a teacher.
    Instead of watching TV, I plan to:
    1. work on my Master’s thesis on Medieval Lit!
    2. paint my toenails in colors to match your new book!
    3. clear a spot in my room for my growing collection of YA books. (Right next to my Bella and Edward dolls! and my purse collection…lol.)
    Samantha (Sammval@gmail.com)

  33. Whee!
    Hi Susane!
    Thing 1: Read (obviously) I have 4 books including yours to get through before May!
    Thing 2: Exercise. The impending bathing suit season is breathing down my neck.
    Thing 3: Rock out to John Mayer. Not that I need an excuse to do so.
    Tameka becauseperfectionisboring@gmail.com

comment

