throwback moment

When I was in high school, I used to tape Late Night with David Letterman (on this total dinosaur of a VCR) and watch him after school. Dave has always been a weird guy and I was a weird kid, so it was easy for me to recognize him as a kindred spirit. I was 12 years old when I first saw him throw a pencil through his window, and ever since then I’ve been hooked. As with all of my shows, it’s not easy to keep up with things without a TV. High school was the last time I lived with a TV and I don’t regret our divorce at all. But I have missed Dave. Imagine how happy I was to discover that I can watch him online without it looking too fuzzy. It’s comforting to see that Dave is still the same wacky dude he’s always been.

The other night, Dave had Jamie Oliver and Justin Bieber on. I’ve been hearing stuff about Justin. When I asked my Facebook friends to tell me what they think about him, I had seven comments just within the first three minutes. Justin clearly touches a lot of nerves, one way or another. After watching him on Dave, I’ve concluded that Justin Bieber is all of the New Kids on the Block filtered into one kid, 80s vibe and everything. For the record, I was a NKOTB fan, so this is not necessarily an insult. Although it is kind of mortifying to admit that.

Jamie Oliver impressed. His initiative to teach people how to cook healthy meals and get the junk food out of schools is awesome. The best part of his visit was Dave’s rant about how we can eat all the sea grass we want, but when we encounter 160 different kinds of cookies in the grocery store we’re powerless. Here’s the rant, followed by Jamie trying to teach Dave how to fry an egg:

Dave makes an excellent point. Diets do not work long-term. For long-term results, one’s lifestyle must change. This is true for just about anything: weight loss, workout routines, establishing healthier habits. If there’s something you want to change in your life, think long-term by creating a new lifestyle – a new way of living you can establish by making small, permanent changes every day. The first step is always the hardest, but once you start moving you are already on your way!

12 thoughts on “throwback moment

  1. Yes I watched that episode also.
    And yeah Justin Bieber is kinda HUGE now. I have been a fan of him before he was even discovered so its really weried seeing my friends pine over him.
    He seems like a down to earth dude, hope he stays that way. πŸ™‚

  2. There is just something about Justin Bieber’s voice that draws me in. I can’t stop listening to his music. Also, he is adorable and so all of his little dance moves make me smile. I am a geek.
    I am definitely going to check out Jamie Oliver’s website to see if I can get some cool and healthy recipes.
    PS: The Late Show should totally feature YOU on their show. πŸ™‚

    • My dream is to be on The Late Show! I’d love to be able to tell Dave how inspirational he’s been to me. A lot of the reason I’m here has to do with him – he sparked my whole desire to be in NYC.
      Yes, Justin’s cute little dance moves totally reminded me of Joey McIntyre back in the day. I loved me some Joey Joe πŸ˜‰

  3. If I were, say, 12 years old, I could see myself being a fan of Justin and his music. I think the first place I saw him was on the Ellen Degeneres show.
    I was a big NKOTB fan back in the day, which was never embarrassing for me to admit until their money-grubbing-mid-life-crisis reunion rolled about. Just reading what they write on Twitter makes me cringe. If Twitter had existed back then, I would have saved myself lots of money and time.

    • I just checked out their Twitter feed. Unimpressed.
      Here’s what I don’t get. Are the New Kids doing this tour being all like how they were 20 years ago? Because that would look ridiculous. I guess it’s a mix of old and new. I just can’t imagine what their new stuff would sound like and, clearly, am unmotivated to go find out.

      • I saw them in Boston when the reunion first launched. It’s very much like it was 20 years ago. There’s a backing track, they do silly boyband dance movies, there’s a lot of pyro and silly stuff flashing on a screen, and they wear matching suits. They sing a lot of the old stuff with a few new tracks thrown in. The new music is horrible. It’s a little too “look at us trying to be young and hip.” *shudder*
        The fans are the same, too. Only now they’re old enough to drink, so they’re shrieking at the top of their lungs while drunk. The girl in front of me passed out drunk and had to be carried out by security, while her friends stayed for the show. Good times….

  4. So great!
    I was rolling when Dave got the shells in the fried egg! That Jamie could roll with Dave’s cynical punches was beyond great! He’s still got it. You were the one who made me love Dave and I still check him out once in a while (online as well we still have a box but it is a monitor for kidvids). You went and saw the show once (or more) when we were in school I remember) when you had to wait forever to get tickets! Remember Sirajul and Mujibur? heehee! Hope you have a great book tour next month!

    • Re: So great!
      Yes! Randi and I went. And then I was nervous they wouldn’t let me in because the tickets said you had to be 16 and it was one week before my 16th birthday. I was so relieved they let me in…that would have been the worst. Oh, and I know this is you, Paula, from your signature heehee πŸ˜‰

comment

